We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to holiday inn standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not up to holiday inn standards”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stay in Holiday Inn expresses all the time for the good value for a decent and clean room. It didnt live up to these standards The woman at the front desk was nice and helpful, but being the only one working makes it so sometimes you just have to wait when she gets pulled away. The shower and bathroom floor was stained and not cleaned well and the shower head had some sort of funk all over it making it look like it was old and never cleaned. The bed was somewhat sunken in. The selling point of a holiday in to me is that for a reasonable price, I can stay at a place that is clean and comfortable. Not this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLHosp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer a detailed review of your stay. I’m sorry to see that you were disappointed with your experience. Cleanliness and guest satisfaction are top priorities for us. Our housekeeping staff has been informed of your comments and will take the appropriate action. Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel if you have any further concerns or questions. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you the next time you are in our area.

Sincerely,
Kesha Legg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
24
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Decent hotel. A little pricey for the suite based on the quality. Free breakfast was okay, but not special. Wound stay again, but take the least expensive room. It appears you are 15 to 20 minutes from malls and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewer524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parish, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I am a regular fan & customer of Holiday Inn Express brand hotels and this hotel is fine but not the best. The location is great for one night of you are passing through or working in the area. Although I slept ok, I do think the beds need to be upgraded, they don't meet the Holiday Inn Express standard. Typically a Holiday Inn Express bed is the best bed you could ask for but you can tell when you walk in the room that these need to be upgraded as they appear to sag and be low to the ground.

The bathtub floor was very stained which was a turnoff. Otherwise the room was clean.

The staff was friendly and speedy during check-in, which I appreciated.

If the beds and bathtubs were updated I'd give it a better rating.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

They need some managing of the property here. The hot tub was out of service, the breakfast a joke because they were out of everything and were slow to refill, and they never did get the pancake machine working. The room was fine, with a nice "skyline" view in the far distance. We had a pleasant front desk check in by Thaddeus.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We almost always stay at a Holiday Inn Express because we can count on them being above average without costing us an arm and a leg. Our stay at the hotel was disappointing. The bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling and the eggs at breakfast were terrible.

I wish I had checked the reviews and not just assumed it would be like other HIE's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear adkers,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so I have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is a little tired..Front staff and room staff were very accomodating..We must have gotten a new bed..We both had a good night sleep..The A/C(heater)unit was VERY quiet..Which is almost impossible..I didn't need ear plugs..The morning breakfast was more than sufficient..We had a room facing downtown..Both mornings, when the sun rose through the clouds,it was only shining on the city..cool view

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugman33772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is a little depressing looking, but it's not bad for a HI Express, I guess. The front desk staff is friendly, but everything is just depressing. The beds are nicely made up, but you'll slide off the mattress if you try to sit on the edge since they are old and need replacing. One of the duvets had "bottom of bed" written on the end in sharpie -- funny since the maid put that side facing the headboard. Really uncomfortable bed and cheap linens/duvet. Toiletries were cheap and smelled weird.

The decor and the free breakfast buffet -- they had a cool pancake machine, but the omelets and poached eggs tasted like plastic. Free wifi, and there's a pool and spa. But it's geared toward family and business, so you'll probably end up sharing the jacuzzi with a 13-year-old. Awkward.

Good value if you're bringing a family but you might be irritated if you worked a full day and came back to relax because everything is just old and smells like cigarettes. Nothing was terribly bad, but nothing was really good either.

Room Tip: get a room facing the front of the hotel so you can see the Albany skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plural39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Address: 8 Empire Dr, Rensselaer, NY 12144-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing