We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, but not quiet - you should check on making rez”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, but not quiet - you should check on making rez”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here on business a couple of weeks ago. Have stayed here many times each March. 1st review.

Checkin: I'm a Priority Platinum Member - check in took 2 minutes - didn't get the room requested (king bed - all rooms are non-smoke). I didn't get an upgrade either. They stuck me in a handicap room with a shower with no pressure. I trudged back down to front desk clerk and asked if there were any better rooms - he put me in a standard 2 double room. Incidentally, there was no "welcome treat (bottle water, snack) in either room.

Room: Since last time I was here they've replaced the tired old tube with flat screen HDTVs - don't know if this is throughout or just some of the rooms. Other than that, room was the same - clean, bed firm, bath clean, small but functional.

Gym: same old but functional equipment as last time.

There's no restaurant/bar on premises, but there's a sports bar sharing the side parking lot. Breakfast was your standard Express - hot scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, etc. The sports bar next door is open late and has typical bar food - I had a grilled chicken salad one night - it was okay. On the road the hotel faces there is a shopping center with fast food plus some chains. .

The second night, we were invaded by what appeared to be a high school team. They played ball and made a huge amount of noise in the hallway, playing ball, slamming themselves against doors including mine, and did things that one might expect unchaperoned high schoolers to do - nothing criminal - just rude and unruly for someone paying for a nice quiet hotel room who had a report (not this one) to write for work for tomorrow morning. I called front desk twice - they said they were going to look into it - but at that hour (9pm) the clerk was the only staff there and he couldn't leave his post. I put up with it for another hour, then decided since it wasn't getting any better to go down to the sports bar . Guess who was there? A bunch of the team's parents. Apparently I wasn't the only one complaining because when I returned there were two parents who moved armchairs into the corridor acting as hall monitors.

Check out was another fiasco as the team and parents were all congregating in the lobby - I mentioned the circus the previous night - the clerk apologised - "other than that, did I enjoy my stay?" What kind of a screwed up question was that? I just told her "NO, I did NOT enjoy my stay" and I found her scripted question totally demeaning and from now on I am going to find out if there is going to be a team staying there IF I stay there again. For the record: she didn't offer anything off my bill.
Conclusion: A hotel that doesn't control its guests behavior, doesn't value platinum priority members, and is lucky to get busloads of guests when it can

Room Tip: tell them if you do not want handicap fixtured rooms - ask if there is a sports team there during yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regman2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Regman2all,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline). I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you used the hotel & facilities available here and this is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. We have addressed the maters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.
We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    34
    16
    7
See reviews for
53
27
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I've stayed at this property several times. It is very clean and not far from Downtown Albany. It has an excellent skyline view of Albany on a clear night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel. They have nice views of the Albany skyline. The rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Ryckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here while on business. The hotel was a standard Holiday inn Express. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The biggest perk to me was the fact that the property gives you access to the Planet Fitness about 1 mile down the road. Usually these properties and have two crappy treadmills, but the access to the gym a huge plus and was the reason I stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njtraveler811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Blue State, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is right off of I-90, close to restaurants, movie theatre, Walmart and other major suburban chain stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Albany skyline: it's a nice view and quieter than facing the busy loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stopped here last year when traveling to The Cape at Thanksgiving time. So satisfied stopped again this year. Comfortable room. Arrived too late for the pool. Next year will try to arrive earlier to take advantage of the hot tub.
Above average toiletries provide compared to other Holiday Inns.
Not your average complimentary continental breakfast. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, plus pastries, cereal hot and cold. Very nice breakfast area as well.
There are evening meal restaurants near by, one just across the parking lot. Restaurants offer discount for guests of Holiday Inn.
We stayed on the second floor. There is an efficient elevator off the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Ma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have come to like the HI Express but this one left me desiring. The pool area looked awful!! Cardboard wrapped pillars and rust and chlorine stains all around. I read another review about toilets not working properly and brushed it off. When I walked in my room the toilet was running. Jiggle of the handle every flush. Breakfast was good though crowded at opening.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleojakob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Picked this motel because of their free shuttle service to and from the Amtrak station. We had a one room king suite which was nice. We have reservations for October for the same room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLtraveler1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
160 reviews
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Address: 8 Empire Dr, Rensselaer, NY 12144-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing