We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mouse in dining room”
Review of Ben's Best

Ben's Best
Reserve with OpenTable
Ben's Best is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Rego Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“mouse in dining room”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

it was early evening and the dining room was full. a mouse roamed the dining room without a care in the world. we left immediately.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Ikeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The food & Service is Excellent. The Atmosphere is typical for a local Kosher restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hbraun400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, Subpar Food.”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This restaurant is in no way affiliated with Ben's Deli (the chain). The waitress (blonde young woman, maybe Russian?) was a disaster - alternating between rude and lazy. Goulash, pastrami, brisket, noodle pudding, matzoh ball soup - you can tell that the food was not fresh nor prepared correctly, there was no care put into them.

A total waste of money! Go to Katz's for pastrami instead.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you like lean corned beef....”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

this is the place to go. Many delis think the beef is lean even though there's plenty of fat on them. Not here. This is the leanest corned beef I've ever eaten and I've eaten a lot. Everything else is also delicious.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ListWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“No kosher deli beats Ben's. Worth the trip!”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The title says it all. You can try Katz's, 2nd Avenue Deli, Stage Door- nothing else is as good as Ben's. Delicious soups are a staple (try the matzoh ball) before you begin your journey of food, and get a plate of kreplach for the table to sample (a dumpling filled with ground brisket, smothered in grilled onions and served with duck sauce, must be experienced to be believed!) Overstuffed sandwiches (the pastrami and corned beef are perfect) are de rigeur but don't ignore the other portions of the menu- from turkey with stuffing and all the trimmings to stuffed cabbage (may not sound appetizing, but it's really amazing), this is the finest in kosher delicatessen to be found. It's also brightly lit and open long hours, which is good because the lines often stretch out the door.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Best also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Best? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing