We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Italian cuisine in Red Hook”
Review of Mercato

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mercato
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Red Hook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Paris
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Italian cuisine in Red Hook”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ate at Mercato 2 nights in a row and really enjoyed both meals. The food is basically Italian but more creative than the regular fare. The starters include interesting salad combinations, yummy octopus and a perfect caprese with local heritage tomatoes. Main dishes include several pasta choices and meat options. I had the risotto on the first night which included delicious quail; the rice however tasted more like regular rice than risotto. My son and husband really enjoyed the pasta dishes (especially the ravioli with sage butter.) The wine list was good and the dessert choices included homemade gelatos which were delicious. As a gluten-free person I had many options on the menu, including a delicious apricot and nut tart tonight (with gluten-free pastry). Ambiance is cosy, especially liked the lighting with candles on the tables. Service is friendly but not invasive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy1162013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    35
    11
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
299 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The right place at the right time”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were looking for a nice place for dinner after a performance at Bard College's music festival that would actually be on our route home (in lower Westchester County). Mercato met both criteria nicely, though it was more casual than I expected and a lot noisier than we would have liked. Conversation was difficult, especially as more and more people arrived, many of them no doubt from the same performance we had been at. We asked our waitress for quick service so we could get back on the road and she obliged. My husband and I had the Mercato salad that tasted very good but had obviously been dressed in advance and was soggy. He had the seafood risotto and said it was good but was really more like a paella than a risotto. I had the blackboard fish special - tile fish served over vegetable quinoa and it was delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dobbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Semplicemente Suplime”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

All to often, we; I, tend to only submit reviews only when traveling yet overlook the very places that make living in my area, NY's Hudson Valley, a most wonderful experience on a daily basis. Mercato - Osteria & Enoteca is just that place. Chef Buitoni wouldn't have it any other way. He clearly enjoys preparing the most delicious Italian dishes using locally sourced, fresh, ingredients that change with the season. And his homemade pasta, well, did I mention his surname? Solo, or with friends or family, you will leave completely sated. My favorite antipasti: chicken liver bruschetta & grilled octopus. Buon appetite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
245 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“What's Not to Love?”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The room is warm, the reception inviting, the service cordial, friendly, and professional. The food is as fresh, regional, and delicious as you will find in Italy, where i travel every year. The tables are plenty big, and well spaced. There is just nothing about this place that you cannot like...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nefelokokigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This restaurant does not merit an Excellent but it is better than Very Good. I have eaten here many times and I always look forward to going when I am in the region. It is great to eat food from a kitchen that could be in New York City but is in a lovely country environment. The chef understands the simplicity of Italian food and its ingredients and puts them together properly with a very good wine list. This does not seem on the surface to be a difficult task however when going out into the hinterlands of America what passes for Italian food is an embarrassment. The atmosphere is terrific and the staff sweet and friendly. It is always a pleasure, even when not perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrillMeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing