We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very refreshing and delicious”
Review of J J's Gourmet

J J's Gourmet
Ranked #14 of 47 Restaurants in Red Hook
Cuisines: American, Asian, Delicatessen, Italian, Mediterranean, Cafe, Minority Chinese
Restaurant details
USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very refreshing and delicious”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pleasantly surprised of the freshness and unique variety of menu items. So wonderful went back the next day for lunch again. Will accomodate changes to a menu item if requested such as the bread that I wanted without a hassel. Very friendly and delicious. Second day went back for lunch and shared a sandwich my sister since they are enough for two people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmp907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cute but rude and over priced ......”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I'd simply say the owner must be burnt out and unhappy. The service was slow and sloppy, one sandwich simply never showed up at all. Their hearts not in it but the local pie shop and the Enchanted Cafe or Bread & Bottle actually offer many great options and are happy to have you. At J&J's hey make you feel like you are an imposition. Our local group will never go back again! Griffs or Bread Alone do a much better egg sandwich for half the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgirl2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere - I love this place!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I love this place! I have an office nearby and go there all the time. Nice place to hang out and people watch, or chat with friends. Bright, sunny, and the people that work there are terrific. I'm a huge fan of the gravlox sandwich. One of the best spots in Red Hook!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler8192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Lots of Choices”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just stopped in here for the first time, and I wish I had discovered it sooner! It was hard to choose something because so many of the options looked good! I finally settled on the pork belly sandwich, and it was delicious! The bread was obviously fresh and well made. The filling was generous and it came with a side of what I think were house made kettle chips. Still warm and amazing! Plus it was a huge helping of them. I also got an iced coffee and that was awesome as well. The prices weren't bad for the quality of the meal. I also got a baked good for later because they looked amazing, I wasn't as blown away as with the rest of the experience. A cute place inside, lots of places to sit. Plus there are many take out options that are quick and easy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, staff helpful, GO!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Relaxing plAce, delicious veggie burgers and salads. Staff behind counter outstanding

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J J's Gourmet also viewed

 
Red Hook, NY
 

Been to J J's Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing