We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quaint and delicious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My boyfriend and I just took a weekend getaway trip upstate to the Red Hook/Rhinebeck area. I did a lot of research beforehand, and discovered the darling Red Hook Inn. It was a huge success.

Worth noting in particular was our amazing and intimate dinner experience. We selected our dinner entrees the day before our meal, so that Nabil, the chef, could purchase the ingredients that day. Talk about fresh food. When we headed down to dinner, we were delighted to discover that we were the only diners that evening, in a room that seats less than a dozen guests. It was like nothing we'd ever encountered before, a beautiful, but quaint dining room with soft music playing, and romantic candlelight at our table. We were both entranced by the lovely ambiance.

Our first course was a Mediterranean salad with fresh chopped vegetables, seasoned with a delicate yet savory blend of herbs. It was more flavorful that most salads have any right to be. Next, we were served an incredible homemade soup of carrot, parsnip & ginger. Leaning more toward a puree, it was healthy and delicious, particularly demonstrating that you don't need heavy cream bases to win over a soup nut like my sweetie. While we dined, we also indulged in warm bread, and our own bottle of Sauvignon Blanc (byob worked out fantastically).

For the main course, he had chosen the filet mignon au poivre (well done) and I opted for the salmon fillet. I had a lengthy discussion with the chef the day before about possible sauce and seasoning options for the salmon (since I don't care for pesto, their usual offering). We agreed upon a light, tomato based sauce for the fillet. It arrived with couscous, honeyed carrots and asparagus. While I felt that the sauce turned out a little too thick and heavy for the fish, the salmon itself was tasty, as were the other side dishes. My b.f. happily devoured his steak, cooked just as he requested.

Finally delivered to our table, was, in my opinion, one of the best parts of the meal, the dessert. Homemade warm apple pie accompanied by homemade vanilla ice cream. I was in heaven. The apples were moist and the crust was flaky, and the whole dish melted into my mouth much too quickly.

Overall it was a wonderful dinner, expressed in both the quality of the food, the attention to details, and the attentive service throughout the meal.

As for breakfast the next morning, while most b&b's offer some sort of standard spread for their guests, perhaps muffins, toast, croissants, coffee and the like. We never expected to first be escorted out to the backyard by the chef who pointed out the hens which had produced our forthcoming eggs. Nabil whipped up two savory egg white omelets with a little American cheese and some of the same vegetables and herbs we relished the night before. The result was just as indulgently flavorful as our dinner.

The bottom line is, if you're looking for a quaint yet elegant b&b to enjoy a weekend getaway, check out the Red Hook Inn. Besides the delicious meals, we also loved our room (spring for Room 5- it's definitely worth it), as well as the private outdoor hot tub. Pat and Nabil are so attentive and thoughtful. (Pat even lent us her GPS when we visited the nearby Poet's Walk and Millbrook Vineyards!!) I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 375 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

We have traveled to the Hudson Valley Region on numerous occasions to enjoy the natural beauty of the area, the historic mansions, the wineries, shops, restaurants, air show, auto shows, etc. This was the first time we stayed at the Red Hook Country Inn. What a wondeful find! It is a charming inn, in a quaint town, close to everything. The hosts, Pat and Nabil, are personable, gracious, humorous, attentive, and very helpful in planning sightseeing and making reservations. The highlight of our stay was the gourmet dinner prepared by Nabil, who is a top notch chef. His salad and soup (carrot, parsnip, with a touch of ginger) were excellent. The desserts (strawberry shortcake and apple pie ala mode) were superb. (Pie made by Pat.) And the dinner entrees were truly gourmet. We had Duck L'Orange and the most tender jumbo shrimp in an elegant sauce. Since the weather was absolutely beautiful, we had dinner outside on the deck, overlooking the lake; and dessert under the stars. Nabil even offered to share his recipes! It was a wonderful visit and one of the best meals ever! Our compliments to the hosts and to the Chef!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovemytravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My husband and I were in Red Hook to attend a memorial service for a friend of ours, and we stayed at the Red Hook Inn overnight and had the chance to enjoy Pat and Nabil's wonderful hospitality! Pat is so warm and gracious, and very knowledgeable about Red Hook and the surrounding areas. We stayed in room #7, which is back behind the main house. The room was very nice; spacious, quiet and comfortable. We needed to be out early for the memorial service so wouldn't have time to enjoy the full breakfast, but we went up early for coffee and Nabil put together a delicious little breakfast just for us! The group we were with in Red Hook came back to the Inn after the service, and we had great tasting pasteries, muffins and breads in the lovely front parlor room!
We highly recommend this Inn. It's in a great location, and the hosts are extraordinarily nice people. They make it so easy to relax and enjoy this lovely B&B. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelondon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

clean, friendly, accommodating,welcoming... i could go on and on- but most highly i will say i will be back to see Pat when i am back in this area!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms.B41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

When we arrived at our daughter's off campus house in Red Hook, we realized that college living was unacceptable for us, so we called the RED HOOK INN, and Pat told us to just let ourselves in. She gave a great rate and we didn't meet our innkeepers/friends until the following morning. The room was BEAUTIFUL, comfy bed, lovely furnishings, whirlpool tub. The next day, we asked to stay another night over delicious breakfast. The inn is lovely, but the main thing for us was to meet such warm, friendly, open people. Our daughter fed the chickens out back and Pat and Nabil told us they would look out for her. For a mother who worries, just knowing that Pat and Nabil are there is a comfort and we will visit them again even if they're booked just to say hello and enjoy their company! I am just sorry it took me this long to find the inn. I've been going up to the Hudson Valley for years. Now that I have, I won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This inn has all the charm and amenities of the best country inns, plus a world-class chef whose Eggs Benedict (made from eggs hatched THAT morning in the chicken coop out back) boast an unmatched, uniquely spiced hollandaise sauce; a full library of free movies for every possible taste and age; and a warm and welcoming staff. A lovely, quiet escape for an adult traveling alone, a romantic destination for a couple and/or a very special country adventure for the little people in your life. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepinginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I live in Red Hook and booked a night here as a birthday present for a friend and she loved it. Pat is super friendly and Chef Nabil's Eggs Benedict are divine. (They're made using freshly-laid eggs from the couple's own chickens and my friend's son got to go down to the chicken coop and scoop up his own egg. (Especially cool for a city kid.)

Rooms are country comfortable -- decorated with antiques; some have fireplaces. There's a back patio (and a hot tub) both of which overlook a lake. The inn is right in the center of town so you can walk to the village's great restaurants -- Flatiron, a steakhouse that serves great fish and Mercato, an Italian Osteria and Enoteca, run by a seventh generation member of the Buitoni pasta family.

If I didn't live a block away, I'd be a regular.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHookGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
62 reviews
5 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
163 reviews
7 mi away
Bohemian Inn
Bohemian Inn
#5 of 16 in Saugerties
21 reviews
14.2 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Address: 7460 S Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571-1771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range: $198 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing