We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Misleading....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was a poor choice picking this Inn on Groupon. We did not receive the wine and cheese platter as promised. The Inn's sitting room was so over crowded with furniture we couldn't relax and there were 3 children that were the housekeepers running around all day. Not a relaxing atmosphere is you want to get away. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Blaze33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
While we strive to provide most excellent service to all guests, sending a review 6 months after your stay limits our ability to repair what might have been wrong.

We are unaware of any guest who has NOT RECEIVED something promised. Occasionally during hectic times, something might be delayed but we always accommodate our guest.

Had you brought it to our attention at that time, it would have been resolved immediately.

My grandchildren visit as they are very well behaved and I am proud and delighted when they interact with guests. Being sensitive to outguess, I am in complete control over when, where and how they are exposed to them.

Finally, the parlour was over-crowded as we were reconstructing another space and now that it's completed, our parlor is back to normal!

Thanks for taking the time to express your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    58
    7
    20
    14
See reviews for
108
144
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent Christmas visiting our daughter & family in Rhinebeck and stayed at the REd Hook Country Inn. We couldn't have picked a nicer place--Pat, the innkeeper, went out of her way to make us comfortable and welcome. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mashugana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I planned a little escape for two nights in this cute bed and breakfast in the Hudson Valley. It took a moment to get used to the fact that it was a bed and breakfast - we're more accustomed to hotels - but once we got settled it was quite nice. It felt much more like a home than a hotel. We asked that our room be changed from the first floor - near the entrance - to the second floor, and the proprietor of the Inn was happy to do so. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast was delicious. They have a chicken coop out back so the eggs are super fresh.

We also got to take advantage of the great relationships that Red Hook Inn has cultivated with local businesses. We got to visit Millbrook Winery for a tour and tasting, which was included in our package with our stay. And when we visited the FDR home in nearby Hyde Park the cost was taken off our bill.

Altogether our visit was extremely enjoyable - a wonderful escape from a hectic life in NYC. I would certainly recommend it for anyone who's traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms on the second floor - more private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliot41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two-night stay at the Red Hook Country Inn over the New Year's Eve long weekend. We had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and well maintained. Our host was extremely gracious and helpful with anything we needed. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. They have their own hens in the back and made us omelets with the fresh eggs.

The location is great too. It's down the street from several excellent restaurants and a historic diner. We were within 20 minutes driving distance of several sightseeing locations too.

I would highly recommend the Red Hook Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We re-visited Red Hook after many years away. We met the owners but they left the next morning and we were left in the hands of Peggy and Elaine. What fun! We enjoyed them so much and they were very hospitable. Our room was on the first floor facing the street. It was charming. The bed is comfortable, the shower was just fine----no complaints.

The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. They are "live and let live" group--always ready to laugh and wanting us to have a good experience.
Wine and cheese, chocolate chip cookies--what else could a couple want?

When we go to a b&b, we do not expect high-end amenities. We expect clean, comfortable, with hosts that are happy to meet us. That is what we got and we will be going back in the Spring!

Jeanne and Ed

Room Tip: I had no complaint re the street noise, however, it was November and there were not alot of walkers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Let me begin with a caveat: The Inn-owners were NOT in residence while we had our stay.

We were left in the capable hands of "Peggy" and "Elaine" who did their best to insure a pleasant stay.
This was a two night getaway with my mother, who spent a lot of time in the area as a young woman. Our room was clean and.... quaint. NOT a large room or bathroom. If you are expecting a modern, upscale- antique sort of experience.. this is NOT for you. Our check-in was a bit mixed up,despite a confirmation call prior to arrival. There were several people in line when we arrived. Busy place! However, once things were clarified, no questions were asked, fresh baked cookies and a tea tray were offered in the Hallway as a self service. Our room was located on the street side front of the Inn. I would recommend choosing a different room if you are noise-sensitive. The bed was very comfortable. The room was small, furnished victorian style- the bath the same. Very clean, but nothing to remark on. TV offered in the room was small and VCR only, -could use an update. Much of the charm in the Inn lies in the the wonderful staff. They went out of the way to provide service, information, and fun for the guests. This is a VERY home style place. If you do not enjoy eating breakfast with various kinds of folks, it is not for you. One couple made a breakfast appearance in their PJ's.

I have been to a number of B&B's but have not experienced this before. (Note: B&B's do not pick their clients.)

Residing in a historic house out in a rural area myself, I can overlook a good deal of formality in
an older house if it's clear it's well-loved, being worked on or looked after. The Inn offers breakfast and advertises eggs from the on-site chickens. At Breakfast, some guests wanted to collect their own eggs for their omlette, others did not even want to view the birds out the window. (The chickens were actually kept quite well in the coop below a spacious deck beyond the dining room.) The morning meal was passable, again, can not say "remarkable." There is plenty of parking at the Inn. The grounds... could seriously use a sprucing up. It is obvious that at one point there was a lot of interest in landscaping, but it is looking tired. Outbuildings (such as the gazebo & child's playhouse) seem to be used for summer furniture storage rather than guest use. The Hot tub advertised was operational and looked like fun, although I did not see anyone use it. The second evening of our stay we were offered a wine and cheese tray as part of our Groupon.

This is where the true charm of the place came through. One cozy couple choose to sit out on the porch (facing the street)on the wicker chairs under a blanket, to share their wine and cheese. We choose the over stuffed sofa in the living room by the fireplace. "Peggy" was wonderful and made sure we had some great laughs along with our very large wine and cheese tray- especially when she discovered it was replacing our dinner-meal. If ratings were based solely on service , I would have given my review four and a half stars. She also packed us a box lunch the following day. Just a sandwich, chips and cookie- but a nice touch. Again, If you are looking for high end experience with heated towel bars gourmet offerings, etc, or upscale "antique B&B" it is unlikely you will meet your criteria. The real charm is in the people who work there.

The town itself is beginning to come back to life and change over from older stores to boutique shops offering handmade soaps and the like. Lots of fun to walk around on a nice day. The Pie shop right next door to the Inn had fantastic offerings and is worth the price. There is a Natural Food store with in walking distance also.

The Red Hook Inn offered free passes to the Eleanor Roosevelt Estate which I recommend highly if you enjoy history. It is the ONLY first-lady's home that has managed to become a museum.

I can recommend the Inn as a safe, clean, retro-victorian, quaint place to stay with GREAT service- in the Town of Red Hook. So, "get hooked" if you want a homey weekend away!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you are a light sleeper. Downstairs rooms are just off the main hall entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at Red Hook Inn and wanted to share our wonderful experience. Our rooom was comfortable and the house has a very homey feeling. The hosts are delightful people and do everything to accommodate the guests. One night we brought back a pizza and we ate in the parlor by the fireplace! We would definitely recommend this B&B to others, especially if you have children attending Bard....very convinient location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinnacakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
6.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Property: The Red Hook Country Inn
Address: 7460 South Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing