We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside BBQ.”
Review of Tail O'The Pup

Tail O'The Pup
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Ray Brook
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Roadside BBQ.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you're expecting picnic tables, red and white striped canopies, a kids playground and friendly service, then you'll be pleased. Is it a little hokey and gimick-y? Yup. Is the food good? Yup. The husband had ribs with cornbread and beans. He ate all of it. I had a pulled chicken bbq sandwich, came with cole slaw and a pickle. Yum. Finished with a shared brownie sundae. Service was prompt and friendly. Not fancy, just good. I would recommend and would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    92
    60
    55
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the price for a 'nothing-to-write-home-about' experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We thought the place would be worth trying for a unique dinner experience...not so. We should have just found a restaurant in Saranac Lake or Lake Placid and saved the drive. For the priviledge of eating from plastic plates, at old picnic tables, I was able to pay full ($$$) prices for any good family restaurant. Food was so-so for the best of our chosen meals; (eg. fries good on plate of fish and chips). My very small serving of '20-hour smoked' brisket was not tender (as suggested it would 'melt-in-my-mouth'). I think it was actually my cob of corn that must have been cooked for 20 hours, instead. Nothing other than a bit of butter to make the baked potato interesting, at least. The deal, as advertised on a road sign (seen two previous days), could not be seen on menu, nor was our server aware of such deal. No live music, as advertised in radio ads and signs.
Save the drive and you'll find better value for money in the neighbouring towns.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to eat there tonight. We were seated then waited 25 minutes and still no service or even some one taking a drink order so we just got up and walked out.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Very cool off beat kind of place. Lots of fun for kids. Great fast food type menu, good ice cream and cold beer! Wait staff is quick and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank lizzysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
207 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arrived based upon the recommendation of a former colleague.
Seemed initially doubtful, as it's located on the main road.
But the food and service were excellent.
Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wisniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tail O'The Pup also viewed

Been to Tail O'The Pup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing