We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Excellent food , beautiful scenery and very relaxing. I love going on these cruises every year... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Charmaine M
,
Montague NJ
Fun afternoon excursion

We were lucky to be able to get on the last lunch cruise of the season. We started on the upper... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2018
sonjaw2013
,
St. Petersburg, Florida
via mobile
Read all 172 reviews
  
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
110
10
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
10
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner cruise the upper deck wonderful cruise informative cruise cia graduate prime rib dinner highly recommend this cruise great scenery family operation great afternoon adirondack history pine knot captain adirondacks durant boat narrative
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food , beautiful scenery and very relaxing. I love going on these cruises every year, wether dinner cruise or brunch

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

We were lucky to be able to get on the last lunch cruise of the season. We started on the upper deck and enjoyed warm weather and the scenery. The tour of the area was performed by the captain. It was interesting narration as we glided by the points of interest. The food was delicious! The best part of the cruise was when Donna recognized the entire crew with a little story of their accomplishments. It is nice to do business with people who are proud of their team!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank sonjaw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Raquette Lake Navigation Company is outstanding! The boat is beautifully restored, food is delicious, crew is attentive and friendly, the scenery around the lake is wonderful. We had the added bonus of touring an original Adirondack great camp, Pine Knot. The entire event was amazing. We highly recommend this cruise.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank pitt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Very relaxing and informative cruise with top notch food. This family run operation is very customer friendly. They will take care of you.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaUpstate_ny, Owner at Raquette Lake Navigation Co, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Lake scenery is very nice and if this is your only option to get out on an Adirondack lake, go for it. The dining is another matter. We had a party of eight adults. The quality of our food varied from very good to poor. Considering the price of this, the boat is way overcrowded and uncomfortable to sit through the meal. It is very, very noisy, with seating packing diners in way too tightly for comfort. Even with a good breeze outside and most windows open, it was stuffy and uncomfortable during the meal. Several of our party went outside between courses for relief, as did many other passengers.

This was our second attempt of this cruise and our last. We were relieved to get off the boat and away from the crowding.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Mimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaP2727, Owner at Raquette Lake Navigation Co, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Wow Mimor! I can see from your review you are not happy. So sorry about that. We have been in business 28 years and can count on one hand negative reviews like yours. Most people give us rave reviews-for the food, the service, the whole experience. If you'd like to call me at 315-354-5532 we can talk further about your poor experience.

I can't tell what day or cruise you came on based on your name of Mimor. If you came on a Sat night, there's no question it was noisy and 8 to the table with a full boat of 64,65 or 66 (our absolute max). Dinner boats traditionally have banquet-style seating where you are seated with people you don't know. In our case it's 8 people to the table. There's no question it can be crowded on a full boat, especially if some of the guests are larger and require more space.

We have a little more room than an airplane, but not a whole lot. That is one of the reasons we created something called intimate dining which we offer in July and Aug on Wed and Sun nights. You're guaranteed your own private table which gives you more elbow room. We deliberately take fewer reservations in order to be able to fulfill this guarantee. With fewer guests to serve, the pace is more leisurely. It is quieter. We do charge more-$80 pp inclusive- but that's only $12 more than a traditional dinner cruise.

During traditional or intimate dining dinner cruises we invite the 4 rows of tables closest to the bar to go outside and stretch their legs and get some air, enjoy the scenery while we serve the entree to the 4 rows starting from the stern of the boat. That's probably why people left to go outside. And it was a hot humid summer. No question about that. We did our best to get people outside as much as possible to get the cool breeze as well as the air and scenery. To say that the food you ate ranged from very good to poor just doesn't jive with our experience. I'm curious what you ordered. At any rate, no business owner likes to receive a negative review on social media or anywhere for that matter. At least if you talk to me in person by phone or otherwise I can see if we can address some of your complaints.

If you read our reviews on Trip Advisor or anywhere you'll see that 99% of them are effusive in their praise and appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

It was a nice boat ride on the lake. Great scenery but the tour commentary was recorded and hard to hear at some points.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaP2727, Owner at Raquette Lake Navigation Co, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Kristina, allow me to defend our recorded narration. Captain Dean is 75 years old. Our 2 middle children wish to take over the business which thrills us. They felt from a business standpoint having a plan B for a relief captain is a necessary step in the ownership transition. Last year was our first year to try a relief captain on a regular basis. That captain read a script I had prepared for him. His accent was such and his speed of talking was such that we had several complaints about his rendition of the narration, to the point that people would call and ask who was piloting that day. Captain Dean was persuaded to go to a professional sound engineer in Utica and record the various cruises. Our sound engineer Lester Elliott did a magnificent job of putting it all together so it's easy for a relief captain to control the narration with a remote. We now have a plan B in place for the captain's position. Captain Dean will continue to pilot the Durant as long as he feels he can do so safely. But, it's necessary to give our relief captain Kip regular trips. It wouldn't be fair just to have him on retainer with hardly any trips at all during the season. Captain Kip pilots the Durant twice a week, Tues and Thurs lunch and excursion. When he pilots, he activates the recording.

We have 17 cruises per week during July and Aug. Capt Kip pilots 4 of them. Captain Dean pilots 13 per week. When Capt Dean is on board, his narration is a live performance. He could use the recording, but prefers not to.

I hope this helps you understand the situation from our point of view.

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews