We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moonlight cruise”

Raquette Lake Navigation Co
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise and dine or just cruise on Raquette Lake aboard the WW Durant. Breath-taking scenery, fascinating history and delicious food combine to create an experience you can't wait to do again. Choose a luncheon cruise, intimate or traditional dinner cruise, Sunday brunch, sightseeing excursion or moonlight cruise. Cruising daily in July and August through Labor Day. Full public schedule weekends in Sept through Columbus Day weekend. Midweek in the fall individuals may piggyback with a preformed group. Nurture your mind, body and soul with a cruise aboard the WW Durant! Special events on the Durant are our specialty! If history is your thing, then be sure to sign up for one of our Pine Knot guided tours. Wine and beer tastings and pairings sell out, so reserve early! A Jimmy Buffet-themed cruise on Sat of July 4th weekend will celebrate our independence Margaritaville-style. There's also a Murder Mystery Who Done It Cruise and a Comedy Cruise. Have I tickled your curiosity bone? Check us out online! We are ready to welcome you aboard the WW Durant!
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Moonlight cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

After having previously taken the W.W.Durant's outstanding intimate dining cruise last summer my wife and I returned this year and took their evening moonlight cruise. Make sure you bring along a sweater, cruising under the stars and moon is quite chilly outside on the the upper deck. The onboard bar provided a good selection of drinks for purchase; though it would be nice if the owners added a broad selection of hot snacks for purchase. The live entertainment inside on the main deck was a delighful addition. The evening moonlight cruise is an outstanding value for your money. The owners are very attentive and clearly care about providing a good time for the guest.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank SyracuseNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    12
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

At first we thought the $35 each price tag for a "lunch" cruise was a bit pricey. Our expectations were low and we were blown away with the service we received. From the moment we loaded we were pleasantly surprised. The loading process was very smooth and quick. Everything about this event is orchestrated with precise timing, and never once did we feel like "herded cattle", as you do with so many tourist attractions. Lunch was a wonderful hot meal, served in a way that was very unobtrusive to the "cruise" itself. We were called down from the open air deck to the enclosed "dinner deck" by party, and waited in comfort until our turn came. As soon as we were finished eating (all you can eat), we decided to skip desert only because we were anxious to return to the upper deck, outdoor air and sunshine. Unbeknown to us, our waitress had noticed that we "skipped" desert, and just as soon as all of her people were finished, she brought our desert up to the upper deck and placed it on our table where we ate it in the sunshine! I can only imagine how wonderful the dinner cruize must be! We've vowed to return again and to bring friends with us! Hope it doesn't take us too long to get back there!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Sprocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing cruise and great food - perfect to entertain guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband's family is lucky enough to have a house on Raquette Lake and so we have become very familiar with the WW Durant dinner cruises. It is a LOVELY evening that never disappoints. You start with a narrated tour of the lake by the captain accompanied by drinks from a well stocked bar. Dinner is then served and two must tries are the chef's own Asian inspired salad dressing and the duck. I know what you are thinking- really duck breast?- trust me -It is excellent. The dessert at the end is ok - not award winning but if you opt for a after dinner cocktail and head back up top the scenery and stars will not disappoint!

Helpful?
5 Thank CrazyaboutDiving88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
354 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,224 helpful votes
“Exceptional Meal on Cruise on WW Durant on Raquette Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Dinner cruise on July 4th on a full vessel. Meal was outstanding; best prime rib that I have ever had. The rest of the meal (great veggie soup, salad, mashed garlic potatoes and peach melba) was equally as great. It was amazing what the chef was able to produce for a crowd of 64 individuals in a very small galley. The price for the quality of the food was a bargain. Dinner was on the main level, but drinks and most of the tour we sat on the upper deck and enjoyed a view.

Cruise was great; captain provided interesting background narrative and all the crew were very helpful (and mostly family members -- the chef is the young son of the captain). Afternoon, we stayed on board to watch the fireworks for the 4th of July and enjoyed after minute of our time on the WW Durant.

Even without the fireworks, this is a must-do if you are in the Adirondacks.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening - You Must Do This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Expecting to see some gorgeous scenery was the main motivation for taking this dinner cruise. Imagine our surprise when we were treated to a gourmet dinner aboard a pristine and lovingly built boat. Can't say enough good things about this operation - Professional with a capital "p". Fabulous food + spectacular scenery = a perfect evening!

Helpful?
4 Thank cwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raquette Lake Navigation Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing