We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussie - you'll love this place!”

Raquette Lake Tap Room & Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raquette Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raquette Lake Tap Room & Hotel
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Driving into Racquette Lake village we were apprehensive as I had booked a room at “The Tap Room” – the local pub, and my wife had some dodgy memories of another pub stay that I once booked so she was full of doubt about where she would be sleeping tonight! The tap Room was an unimposing two story brick building right on the lakes shore and its focus is of course its bar, so in we went to check in. The bar was about the size of our lounge room, and full of querky local characters. We were checked into our ‘honeymoon suite’ (that’s what they called it - $110 the night) and told to go out the door, turn left, into another door and up the stairs and our room was right at the end of the hallway. Well, the stairs hadn’t seen a broom for a month, the hallway was dark and dismal and then we unlocked our door and lo and behold it was magic! We had a double sized room with beautiful views across the lake – how could Mal have doubted me! So a quick shower, change and freshen up and out to wander the lake shore and then back into The tap Room for some local action ! The draft beer was good and it was Fish and Chip night so we had a starter of garlic snails (unusual for the locale I thought) and the Fish and Chips – a very acceptable meal washed down with more draft and a few Merlots which were poured from a massive big bottle – so looked like it was headache material. Made some new friends including Robin, a guy who was holidaying across the lake and he heard us say we were doing the boat trip on the lake next day so offered us a moonlight personalised boat ride of his own! Off we toddled with Robin to the jetty with our two other drunken mates and he did us proud – pulled a bottle red out of the gunnels and we sat back and slurped out of plastic cups whilst he drove us around the lake! It really topped off a great day and we were feeling very pleasant by the time we hit the hay in the ‘Honeymoon Suite’ and had the best nights sleep of the trip!

Room Tip: Go the Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband & I just love staying at the Raquette Lake Hotel & Tap Room! We generally visit the Adirondacks a couple of times a year and always end up at the Tap Room. The food is affordable and delicious, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Forget about laying around in your hotel room and watching television...there are none. This is like a step back in time, a real gem!

Room Tip: Get a room with a nice view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peachgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

When we discovered we were getting to Raquette Lake a day early, David found the tap room and made a reservation and and left it as a surprise. It sure was. I felt like I was stepping back into the "Wild Wild West". The tap room, itself didn't quite qualify, but the room sure did. We had to climb through the booze on the steps to get to our room. We were lucky because we got the only room with a bathroom. All the others had to share. We had burgers downstairs which were excellent. The noise was as expected. We expected to hear it into the night. We went back to our room...peace and quiet. We slept great all night. Only $40. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the one at the top of the stairs with its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LindaRN1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The tap room is a must stop on a visit to Raquette Lake. The drinks are average bar drinks and the food is normal bar fare, but go for the atmosphere and to mingle with the locals. They are good people and very knowledgable about the lake and surounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank CrazyaboutDiving88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I've been to the Raquette Lake Tap Room more times than I can count. It's definately an annual destination for me, usually in the summer. I've been there once or twice in the winter during snowmobiling trips.

As the other reviews point out, this is a throwback from the mid 1900's. It still has that saloon feel to it, with a very nice setting at the mouth of Raquette Lake. I've never stayed overnight in the guest rooms, but I've seen them. Rooms are basic and comfy, and the price is right.

The tap room has great food specials, local brews, and a full bar. The walls and ceilings are plastered with sketches of old 'regulars' from days long past. Overall, a very nice worthwhile stop, and a great place to while away a day, afternoon or evening.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tom_Realtor_CIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Really cool bar of the adk style, which serves lunch/breakfast, friendly low key reasonable prices! General store next door if you need to grab anything while on your ride through the beautiful trails.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
4  Thank luvzsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Great home made food. Great bar and, and jukebox. Locals spot, but welcoming. Unique, authenic old
time hotel over tap room with clean and comfortable overnight accommodations. Love it!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Designscion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raquette Lake Tap Room & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raquette Lake Tap Room & Hotel

Address: 4 Main St, Raquette Lake, NY 13436
Location: United States > New York > Raquette Lake
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Raquette Lake
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing