We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I understand the complaints.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I must have hit the checkin time just right, being 3rd in line. But after seeing the lines at other times I totally understand the complaints. Clean facility, great waterpark for young kids, but the froint desk needs extra help. Be prepared to wait.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
There are newer reviews for Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

We arrived at the hotel with high expectations - we enjoy the Six Flags parks so we were hoping for the same experience at the hotel. First problem was right when we walked in the door - there was a line out the door! I called the hotel while in the FORTY FIVE minute line just to check in and get our water park tickets ( this is super fun with small kids btw ) and I was like "we drove 3 hours up here - is there any reason that they don't have a seperate line for reservations and one for day passes??" And the rep said that "well, everyone else has driven a long time and they are waiting too." great...

So we finaly get up to the front of the line and I said that I wanted to talk to a manager - as it was 3:30 ( we arrived at 2:40) and that is just not acceptable. She handed me a copied piece of paper that was a "customer comment" form. Uh - thanks?? No free drink, no $5 coupon - nothing.

So, then we get into the water park, hoping that it was worth it and I was NOT pleased. The place was FILTHY. We go to CoCo Key water parks around here and I have never seen them look like this. The toddler play area was so crowded we couldn't even find an inch of water to play in - plus there were kids misbehaving (sitting at the bottom of the slide and trying to climb back up it when other kids are waiting - and the parents looking on and not doing a thing about it )

From what I understand the water park was sold out but if you are going to sell out common sense woudl say that you have to have staff on board to deal with it. There were clumps of HAIR on the bathroom floors (eww!! ) then the Family bathroom had a pile of dirty towels stacked up almost to the height of the toilet - the floor was dirty - there were used paper towels all over the floor and ( this was the highlight ) a used feminine hygenie product lying next to the pile of towels. Gross gross gross.

It was at that point that we decided to leave having spent $50 and $7 for a locker and $15 on food. Trust me - do NOT go here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The water park is great for the Kids. But as adults we found the water in the lazy river toooooo cold. We arrived at 3:45, and was not able to check in until well after 5:00. The help is good, However, they do need more help at the front desk to cut down on the long lines. 1 hour is to long to wait to check in, just to find out your room is not ready yet. We would visit this hotel again. We would just be prepared for a very late check in and long lines.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haircut351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

ok. This place has all the good intentions but it does not measure up AT ALL! It seems like it is run on a shoe string. staff are very friendly but are not able to get everything done and so smiles can only go so far. it took me 2 hours and 7 phone calls to get through to someone to confirm the reservation the day before we were to arrive. when we got there ( a weekday thank goodness because I saw the line for the weekend) the remote did not work, the lights did not work in our room. It took me about 4 hours to get extra pillows and blankets and the only reason we got them was because we saw the manager out and about. the lines are HUGE, LONG!! and there is no way around them. they need double the staff in this hotel to run properly. it was very cold in the lazy river. and the chlorine will burn your eyes. which is to be expected at a water park but this really was bad and everyone had itchy , itchy skin and burning eyes when we left. - ok. well one last thing. the kids had fun because they were oblivious to it all ( 7 and 4). if you can deal with waiting most of the time you are there.... go for it. but one night was enough to do us in....

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotpinkrollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

What a place! Makes you forget about the cold outside.

We absolutely loved the Great Escape Lodge and White Water Bay indoor water park. Something for everyone in there, from slides to "flowrider" to lazy river and whirpool, it's truly a wonderful place.

Prices are quite reasonable too; We paid $139US per night for a family of 5 and that includes 5 waterpark passes.

Clarification about the FLOWRIDER: we were told that it costs US$50 to ride the Flowrider or "boogie board" surf. The cost of $50 is only if you want surfing lessons (stand up surfing). It doesn't cost anything extra to ride the flowrider/boogie board, it's included in the park pass with your bracelet. The lifeguards help you and even show you little tricks you can do, once you can balance yourself on the board. My kids loved it (8, 11 and 14).

Don't hesitate to contact me, there's so much to talk about, i'd be happy to answer any questions.

Je suis francophone, si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Fun hotel for kids, very noisy but to be expected with tons of kids running around. The water park was so cold for adults except for the hot tub. Please - help the adults out with some heat in the lazy river. :^)
And the check-in delays have to get ironed out - either hire more cleaning staff or have an earlier check-out time. We had to wait almost two hours to check in and we had a shorter wait than others around us. We paid big bucks to be in a hotel room from 6 p.m. - 11 p.m. - not even 18 hours - and being able to use the water park and not being able to check in to change isn't a great bonus!
And the pillows need work - great beds and lumpy pillows?!?!? They don't go together.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We tried to stay at this hotel in March, but it was full. So we stayed at a nearby property and took the kids to get a day pass for the water park. The water park was a bit small but fun, and the kids had a great time.

HOWEVER, the front desk and reservations situation for this hotel is the worst I have ever seen. To get our water park passes, we had to stand in line with about 20 parties wanting to check in or out. Every single person had some sort of complaint or issue about their reservation. The overworked clerks took about 10 minutes per person to resolve it, often changing rooms, giving out free dinner coupons, etc. Reservations were misplaced, people got different room types from what they requested, rooms weren't ready until late in the afternoon, etc, etc. It took us almost an hour to get to the front of the line to buy our passes, and we heard every complaint imaginable.

This hotel is relatively new, and they seem to have a nice property and a decent water park. But unless they clean up their front desk and reservation act, they are going to get a really bad reputation. If you decide to stay there, good luck!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#70 of 89 in Lake George
45 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#22 of 89 in Lake George
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range: $229 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing