We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mother/Daughter bonding time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Ancram, New York
1 review
“Mother/Daughter bonding time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My adult daughter and I needed a little get away. Since she had not had a real vacation in 20 years it was her choice. She picked the Lodge at Great Escape. And it was a great escape! The memory foam mattresses on the beds were a wonderful surprise. We took advantage of the in house spa and had full body massages that were so marvelous that we did it again later in the week. The indoor water park was fun and relaxing after the excitement of the thrill rides at the Great Escape Park right across the street. Though we are adults we love rollercoasters and thrill rides immensely. The in house restaurants offer good food at reasonable prices. Jonny Rockets for the burgher and fries type and another eatery gaged more toward the mature who prefer a nice meal without a lot of back ground noise. The Lodge appeals to all age groups , especially multigenerational families, there's something to please all.

Room Tip: You should choose your room according to the number and age of guests. They have great family rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you and your daughter for choosing to stay with us and for writing us a review. we appreciate you mentioning the wonderful spa options we offer at the lodge and are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience. We work hard to provide guest of all ages with a fun and memorable stay, so your comments were a great way to let us know we did a good job. Thank you for your review and we all look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    454
    247
    144
    98
See reviews for
1,155
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

When we first arrived at the Great Escape lodge we had a very warm welcoming! The staff was very professional at the lodge. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. What we liked about the lodge was the indoor water park especially when it rained for a couple of hours. They had plenty of towels and lockers if you need. Then we went back to the Great Escape Amusement park right across the street (you use the bridge for pedestrians) great idea and very convenient because you can leave your car at the lodge. Very kid friendly. My two kids still can't stop talking about it! We will be back!

Room Tip: Very clean plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a nice review. The staff works hard to provide our guests with a welcoming stay and clean accommodations, so your comments were a great way to let us know we did a good job. Guest safety is our number one concern so we are happy to hear that you used and enjoyed our pedestrian bridge to go between the lodge and the Great Escape theme park. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Sincerely
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you have little ones in your family you would love your stay there. Its a lot to do food is so good. I love to travel to new places if god is wellin i would stay there again with my family again. The room was so big the bed was nice and comfort.





  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities, but the true compliment is to our staff with all the wonderful things you shared. we strive for a flawless experience, so I am glad we delivered one. We all look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family spent last night at the Great Escape Lodge and we had a decent time. When we got to the resort it was before check-in time and our room was not ready yet (not a big deal, we were early). We used the time to check out the arcade and get a feel for the property layout. My wife was able to schedule spa services within an hour of our arrival which was a pleasant surprise. She went to get her massage and the kids and I picked up the room key and headed to the indoor water park. The room was nice but we did not really check it out until we came back from the water park. The water park was nice and we spent about 3 hours there we all tried the wake board which was fun and the family waterslide was fun. The lazy river could have been better by using more current to move the tubes along and there were way too many kids racing through the lazy river without being in a tube. We called it a night after dinner at Johnny Rockets which was good. Our server Veronica was great and made it a good experience for our family. Our only complaint about the room is there was only one small garbage can for the entire suite. We spent the next day at the park and returned home. For a quick getaway for a night or maybe two it was perfect for our family

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and receive their valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that your server Veronica was able to make your evening more enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great place to stay with children, so many different activities and huge bonus is the indoor water park. The hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely pleasant and eager to assist with any of our needs

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We work hard to provide our guest with a large variety of activities that every member of the family can enjoy. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our 2nd time staying here. Both times we loved it. Two best parts: the indoor water park (everyone had fun!) and the mattresses. Best nights sleep ever. Our room (a premium suite) was huge with a nice kitchenette area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 413FamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your review with our fellow TripAdvisor fans. The Staff works hard tp provide fun and clean experience and we were all excited to know that you were satisfied. Thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our stay was from August 3rd-4th.The first thing that struck me was how "worn" the facility looked over all. I booked 2 rooms ( one for myself and children and another for my elderly parents), so i spent over $700.00 combined..I guess I just did not expect the some of the common areas to be so used looking. Lord knows they charge enough ( with no reduced rate for 2 almost 80 yr old people who would not be using either of the parks, so Im not sure why they cant put money back into the facility to make it look alittle "crisper". The tub leaked in our room and the bunk bed was so unstable it kept waking my daughter up throughout the night. The bedspread was sooo dirty we took it off and stuffed it in the closet . The staff were "o.k."- most were cordial, although the front desk staff looked liked that was the last place they wanted to be. I travel alot and there is a huge push for customer service amoungst the chain hotels-apparently this hotel does not feel they need to go out of their way..
All things considered, I wouldnt go back; I would sooner go to many of the other water parks/amusement parks, like CoCo Key in Connecticut, before I would spend that kind of money again-The hotel associated with CoCo Key has no threatening signs in the room of a $150 charge if you do not evacuate your room by 11:15am on your departure date... another thing you wouldnt see at a chain hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room on an upper floor.. main floor very noisy, both on the same floor and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not fully satisfying. I appreciate your comments and willingness to share your recent experience. We rely on our guests to let us know what we are doing right, and where we can improve. Thank you for letting us know about the problem with your tub and bed so we were able to make our maintenance staff aware of the issues. We will certainly use your review constructively to work to provide the best stay possible for our future guests.

Sincerely,
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 90 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#10 of 90 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing