We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No crib and no working fridge and they don't care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No crib and no working fridge and they don't care”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our second trip here. The first time we visited in June 2013 and had a nice time with our 2 year old. This time, we visited in February 2014 which also happened to be vacation week for Vermont schools and there was a big living social special that many people used for this week. Despite reserving our room three weeks in advance and requesting a crib when I made the reservations, when we checked in, the crib request had to be made again. And then again two hours later. And then again one hour later, and then again one hour later. And then we were told they were out of cribs. Apparently they were out of cribs when we first asked, but they lied to us, and by the time they admitted they did not have a crib, it was too late for us to do anything. The night housekeeping manager brought us extra blankets and recommended we roll them up on the floor for our 9 month old. She admitted that she tried to get the firmest blankets possible because she worried about suffocation if the blankets were too soft. Yes, those were her exact words.Needless to say, no one got any sleep because the baby rolled all night long because the blankets did not help at all. Our fridge also did not work. Someone put in a fake nob to make it look like it worked, but there was no real mechanism to turn the fridge on or regulate the temperature. Alas, we could not keep the baby's formula preserved in the fridge. When I explained the situation to the night manager and again to the day manager, they simply did not care. They offered no solutions and said, "we don't compensate people if there are no cribs, and we can reimburse you for the formula if you want." Two of my children work in the hospitality field. When there are not enough cribs, they go to stores and purchase what is needed. If the front desk had admitted they had not crib when I first asked, I would have had time to go to a store and purchase something to rectify the situation. We traveled 3 hours to spend a miserable time. The service was horrid. Yes, we had a great time in June (but there were very few people present at this time). If this property is unable to service a full capacity, then they have no right to advertise that they can do so. They need to keep track of how many cribs are needed and stop reserving rooms for those who need cribs if they have no intention of providing one. Their current policy is a form of Russian Roulette - use rolled up blankets on the floor - and when a child suffocates or seriously injures herself/himself because of this solution, then the company will wake up and take notice? Shame on an establishment that advertises itself as family oriented.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    502
    277
    162
    112
See reviews for
1,304
28
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I took our one and a half year old son for the weekend. He loves swimming and we wanted to get a way so we figured we would try this location. I must say, the only real complaint we had was the parking lot. I realize that in the Northeast during winter, it is hard to keep up with the snow/ice removal, but I have stayed at a ton of hotels in this area during the winter and this parking lot was hands down the worst. I was actually afraid to have my pregnant wife and son walking on it so I went to the car every time we had to leave and brought the truck to the door. Other than the dangerous parking lot out front, we did have a good time. Our room was clean, but was really hot even with the A/C going. We did enjoy the water park and the few staff members that we ran into were pleasant enough.

We ate one meal in the Tall Tales Tavern and the food was actually quite good. The host was very confused about sitting us for some reason, but the server was pleasant and helpful.

We will probably return at some point because we like the area and it is convenient to stay at the hotel with the water park.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting the room that you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habsfan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I try to go lake george almost every year since its a short drive away,we stay at the six flags depending on the price ,when they have a special going on we stay there or else not really worth it for us ( 2 adults no kids)
That being said
Its really a cool place to stay specially if you have kids
Location is pretty good your close to the outlets and the aviation mall
Rooms are very clean and spacious
Water park is pretty cool specially when you see the snow outside

All and all very nice place but could be a little pricey

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very expensive for what you get. Very disappointing for the price. Supposed to be in a newly renovated room - broken furniture and stains on the wall. Not impressed! Stayed at other water parks and rooms were much nicer, bigger and better appointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene6591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

Islip, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Checked in today, presidents week, and the room I was given is not the one I booked on line. They say it is but if you look at the pictures on line it is not. The rooms are pricey and not to be in the one we paid for is frustrating. Front desk said they would tell mangers, that was five hrs ago and no word from manager. They give you an one cup keurig but the cups are to small and it goes every where. Went to the water park and it is cold in there, water as well. In the tree house it was crowded and only one life guard walking around with all those little kids, not nearly enough. Off to the lazy river not enough tubes I think most people in it were either walking or floating themselves. The towels they offer will scratch your skin. To rent a locker for the day is 16.00, a bit much In my opinion.
Went to split rock a few yrs back much better rooms in size,there suites are actual suites not two bed with a 1/3 wall to a tiny sitting area, full kitchens. The decor was a little dated back then but I will take that over this place. They had more supervision in the water areas and it was warm inside maybe a little to warm. Will go back there next time. thought we would try something new and sorry we did. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruzzofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Lodge and going to the indoor waterpark and I have to say it was ok. Overall, the owners are not paying attention to the details. We parked by the entrance and walked into the lobby which was lodge like with a grand fireplace, but worn Adirondack furniture and we got in line to check in. It was only 1 p.m. and the front desk staff already looked tired from serving guests, but we got our tickets to go to the waterpark before checking into our room. We had brought one separate bag with swimsuit and headed in and went to the lockers. The two machines were not functioning fully - one only took cash and one only took credit card (the handwritten note instructed us) We got a $16 one, but soon found it was not big enough for our 4 winter coats, boots, and bag so we paid for another. They have just a few changing room so we had to wait for a room. The Lodge has towels just for the waterpark, but they are tiny and rough. It would be so so nice if the owners would splurge for some nice large, quality towels! We placed our towels on an empty plastic Adirondack chair and left our flip flops and headed for the lazy river which wraps around the room and there are clear tubes to float in. Since it is the middle of winter, I thought the waterpark might be warm and toasty, but to be honest all of us were pretty cold the whole time. My 8 year old son loved the lazy river, but we eventually had to get out because his lips were turning blue. There is a jaccuzzi for over 18, but we were with our children so we minimize our time apart. There are two big tube rides and the wait wasn't too bad, a wave ride which took about 30 minutes to go on, and then smaller slides in the middle with a big bucket that fills up and then drenches all who are below. The large yellow tubes had several handles broken and we only had one to hold on to. On one of the busiest weeks, they were short staff in the waterpark. It looked like the owners decided to skip a yearly update of the park because there was stairs that needed painting, rust spots on railings. The waterpark could also use one or two employees to just roam and pick up dirty towels, pick up trash, etc. We spent 4 hours there the first day and that seemed like enough time. When we went back to get our towels, someone had "borrowed" them and so wet and cold we went looking for towels and they were all out! Our tickets included the next day so we did go back for another 2 hours, but my 12 year old was getting a bit bored. Our room was on the second floor and the hallway and our room smelled like baby powder which isn't terrible, just too much scent. Our room was roomy and decent, but little details like the shower curtain barely touched the top of the tub and two of the lights in the room the switch was broken. Bed was comfortable and the shower tile was nice and clean. Since it is mostly families that stay here, we constantly heard kids run through the hallways (sounded like elephants) and early morning kids crying, etc. We ate two of our meals outside of the hotel and breakfast at the connected Johnnie Rockets. It was about the same amount of money to stay the night with tickets included for the four of us versus going for a day trip so I am glad we stayed. Hope someone will start paying attention to the details!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

As others have sited this place should be avoided at all costs. We waited all afternoon to get into our room only to find vomit on the carpet, chicken bones in the fridge, dirty socks, holes in the blankets, a broken hair dryer...all for over $300 a night! When I called to complain housekeeping came to access the situation and said they would take care of everything while we were at dinner. When I went to the desk to ask for our room to be switched I was informed they were at full capacity. We went off property for dinner to try and find other accommodations, alas it was not only valentines weekend but also february break so every hotel in the area was booked! Frustrated with no option but to stay we returned to our room only to find the smell was 10x worse, it appears they just soaked the carpet..not cleaned it. I immediately called the desk and asked for a manager to come to our room. A young man who later admitted he was the aquatics director came to our room. I demanded that the property manager or general manager be notified and that this was totally unacceptable. After 9:00 pm at night the "real" manager finally came to our room to address the situation and offered to comp our night and change our room the next day. Like others have said, while the kids enjoyed their time here it was nothing but one frustration after the next, not a vacation. If your going here thinking your going to get clean accommodations..your not. If your thinking it will be anything near the quality of Great Wolf Lodge...it's not. Stay away as this place needs a lot of improvements.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kccast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#3 of 11 in Queensbury
306 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#12 of 88 in Lake George
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing