We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but needs some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We first stayed here 2 years ago on a trip back from Canada so when we decided to return to Lake George we thought we'd go back to Six Flags. The furniture in the lobby and rooms is looking a little saggy and worn - could use some updating. There are only 2 elevators in the whole place so be prepared to wait during busy times. The water park is great, though geared toward the younger set - probably the last year for my 11 year old.

The real problem with this place is that in catering to kids they've forgotten about the parents. There's no business center and the WiFi is incredibly slow (no bandwidth) so if you have to work or check email on vacation you can forget it. The fitness center is old and tiny - considering the amount of unused space in this place they could seriously expand it. And if you're looking for healthy food options don't look in the water park or Johnny Rockets. All you'll find is grease, fat and sugar.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great family place! Very friendly staff, very clean rooms! Water park was awesome, clean and the water temp was just right! I could not be more pleased about this place. You won't be disappointed! From a very picky mom of three!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the resort for two nights mainly to keep the two 13 old boys occupied. We had visited the theme park in the past on our annual sojourn to Saratoga Racetrack and decided to stay on site rather than travel back and forth from Saratoga. It turned out to be a good decision. The boys were able to experience the indoor hotel water park and adjacent theme park on their own schedule which allowed us to explore the area around Lake George. Don't miss the Sagamore Hotel in Bolton Landing for drinks or dinner. The boys would wander between the sites at their leisure in sort of a mini Disney experience. The staff were polite and friendly and seemed to care about pleasing the guests. The rooms are more of a partitioned bedroom with a sleep sofa and only one TV so it is not a traditional suite but served it's purpose. The property is clean and well kept but could use some upgrades especially the bathrooms. Special kudos to the housekeeping staff which had our rooms ready on time and did a great job keeping the room tidy.

The indoor water park has some nice features such as the flow rider but is other wise fairly standard. It is very loud and stuffy however and not the best atmosphere for adults to relax in. It would be nice if the hotel had set aside a more quiet tranquil area for parents to relax or read while the kids played. There really isn't any such haven on the property. Also the gym/exercise room is rather basic and small. The food in the lobby pub was quite good especially the wings. The bar also has a nice collection of local micro brews on tap so it is worth a visit. On the other hand the Johnny Rockets Sports bar while a nice concept disappointed in both quality of food and service. The hotel also offers and arcade and nice gift shop which the boys took advantage of. They had a very good time and had no interest in leaving the property and really enjoyed their independence. That in turn made our experience much more enjoyable and worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stay was better than expected. Heard about past bed bug problem and that was a major concern when booking. Staff assured me the problem was taken care of and all the rooms got new temperpedic mattresses. Did not find any bugs. Good family friendly place especially for little kids but it can get old if you stay too long. We did other things around the Lake George area also. Nice that the water park was open late. I would recommend this place to a friend and will probably go back again in the future.

Room Tip: Their is a mini-fridge and microwave in the rooms so bring your own snacks and drinks to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was here years ago when the kids were about 4 years younger. Now they are 14,12 & 10. It's nice but small in comparison to Kalahari in Ohio and Great Wolf in NJ. Here is what they have: 3 tube slides, 1 surfing ride, 1 small lazy river, a kiddie section, bucket drop and 2 body slides. No outside water activities. There was as "issue" in the water and for an hour, the only thing available was the surfing ride. Great for small kids I guess. My kids were bored quickly and even staying for 2 days was too long. Staff was friendly, room was clean and accommodating. I don't eat in these places because it is highway robbery for the value. Plenty of places nearby for great food including a Golden Corral. Didn't go to the amusement park across the street this time around. Maybe that will hold kids of this age. If this facility wants to compete as an indoor waterpark, it must expand. Sorry will not be returning.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the arcade and main entrance. Noise level will be high there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cthreeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our two teenagers and 3 other families who had kids from the age of 11 to 19. When we checked in the employees were very friendly. Our room wasn't ready, but we were early and it wasn't a problem. When we got into the room I was very happy with the size of the room. Two double beds with a seperate sittting area with a sofa, table, and 2 chairs. Mini refrigerator and microwave in the room was nice. I found the lights in the room to be very dim. The water pressure in shower was not good. On Monday we left the room around 9:30 am and returned at 2:30 and our room still had not been cleaned. We ate in both Johnny Rockets and the restaurant in the lobby(forgot the name). The servers and food in both places were great! It is a quick walk over to the The Great Escape Amusement Park. The indoor water park was enjoyed briefly, but didn't keep the older kids interested for very long. Too bad they don't have an outdoor pool. Lots of activites in the hotel for younger kids. Short ride to Lake George and outlets. On the second night our 18 and 19 year olds were sitting in the lobby talking and one of the employees decided they didn't want them there and told them they had to leave and go back to their rooms! This employee was just in a bad mood and decided to take it out on paying guests! We were very disturburbed by this behavior and spoke to the manager. There are both pros and cons about the lodge. Overall I would recommend it for a family with young children. If you have teenagers, I would not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wet, Warm, Fantastic Family Fun. A must do for all with children. Safe environment. Friendly, clean and just plain ole fun. Try it. You will like it. From the front desk to the maid service, our entire trip we had no complaints. Rooms were pleasant, cozy and clean. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#71 of 89 in Lake George
47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#21 of 89 in Lake George
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range: $168 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing