We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escapes lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Indoor water park great.. Rooms queen suite great..nice place for family friendly fun.. We would go back..eat outside hotel area, unless your a Johnny rocket fan.. Not many options to eat in hotel.. Leave your luggage packed in car if you are staying one night, to pass through, take a bathing suit, and your p.j,s and clothes for the next day, so you don't have to lug in the luggage..



  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located indoor water park at Great Escape Lodge. At $40 per adult and $20 to park your car, was no bargain. The 3 different tube slides were the only thrill in this very, small park. The children's area was good. The kid sized slides provided some amusement for the little ones. Being that it was indoors , it was very humid. Towels and lockers provided. Small snack stand with draught beer was a plus. This was no high tech park, so why so expensive?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Suejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is a mess. On the phone when you make reservations you talk to nicest person that will tell you anything that you would want to hear. We inquired for wood baby crib and they said we have it for sure. We asked if rooms were clean and spacious with accommodations to have enjoyable stay, they replied nothing could be better......
So, here we are... Arrived....
Came to our room. It's one where they had one sink, one half mirror above the sink. Dirty and smelly carpets. Bathroom had toilet and the bathtub. No mirror no sink in bathroom. In stead of wood crib they delivered metal crib. It's not a big deal with the wood or metal. But WHY LIE???? We asked the stuff about a better room and wood crib.
All you hear like a recording I'm sorry we never had wood baby cribs and better rooms $40 additional per night. I paid alredy $1000 for 3 nights. I've staid in better hotels and for much less. I understand they have water activities and that's what they offer, but I think this place does not deserve high rating. And by the way no lockers in rooms. So if you have valuables expect to be charged $16-$18 per day to rent it in the water park.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Izdalan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

great place to bring kids, they had alot of fun at the water park and at the arcade. the staff was very helpful and very nice. It was also nice to have the great escape so close to the hotel. I will bring the kids back again and again when i can.

Room Tip: fun rooms for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had stayed here once before about 3 year ago. Here was our experience.

The pros: Water park cleanliness has improved substantially. We were impressed with the lifeguards being on their game. The checkin process was also down from our last stay considerably ( Last stay took 1 1/2 hours in line - this time was about 10 minutes )

The cons: our room was on the fourth floor. When we got off the elevator it was 85 degrees
( per the thermostat ) in the hallway. I called down and they said they would get someone up. We left and came back 4 hours later, still 85 degrees. I called again, they said someone would come up to check it out. When we woke up in the morning, 80 degrees. I would not expect this from a hotel that was not $299 a night, maybe the Econo Lodge, but again, not a hotel charging these prices.

The breakfast experience was not so great either. We went into the hotels "coffee break" area to get a muffin and coffee. A simple plan that took over 20 minutes to execute on. They had 3 people looking very displeased to be there on staff, and about 20 people in line. 2 of the 3 people left their posts and never came back with people in line. As in walked away, with people standing in line wondering where they went. I know, since I was one of these people. In fact, I was next in line when the person left and people were behind me and the other register kept taking people who were just coming up instead of taking us. When we finally got to order, I asked the girl what kind of muffins there were ( keep in mind there are about 7 items in the case so it should not be that hard to know what you are stocking ) and she said ( in a muffled voice that was barely audible since she looked like she had just woken up and was clearly not pleased to be there ) "regular plain muffins." As it turns out it was not a regular plain muffin, it was Apple, so my daughter wouldnt eat it.

As for the gym there, it is small and does not have a selection of machines or anything that would really classify it as a gym. Luckily they are close to Flex Appeal so we usually go there to work out, but again, a $300 a night hotel should really have these things.

Overall, we would likely return but just because my daughter likes it, not because it was a good value or we felt we had good customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking to be a kid again and enjoy it with your kids this is the place for you and your family. Filled with hours of fun in the indoor waterpark that never gets old. Everything is within walking distance and Great Escape is right across the street. I will definately be back again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a great stay once again!!!
We would definitely go back again!!
The staff was great..rooms were clean and the entire hotel was clean and well run.everyone was helpful and smiling :)
Very easy to get around,the kids loved the arcade!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justjen315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#71 of 89 in Lake George
47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#21 of 89 in Lake George
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range: $168 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing