We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Middletown, New York, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Escape Lodge”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My children age 7 and 3 both had an awesome time at the waterpark. Very clean and plenty of lifeguards on hand. Next to plenty of outside amenities including restaurants and activities. Easy to get to. The Great Escape across the street within walking distance. You do not have to spend money for parking. We had a group of 26 and every age from 3-21 for the children and there was something for everyone.



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    512
    283
    169
    113
See reviews for
1,342
29
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked early and got an awesome rate- $150 a night which included our waterpark passes. Our room was awesome, just a basic 2 queen room. Like others have said, it is a lodge so nothing to fancy but everyone was every helpful and nice! Upon check in our TV wasn't working- they had it fixed in a half hour. Also, I didn't realize that a soda was $3.25 in the lobby so I was going to have to go back to my room, the staff provided me with a complimentary free soda cup for the remainder of our visit. Things are a little overpriced, but it is vacation and it is supposed to be an all inclusive resort. We ended up going out quite a bit but we did have great experiences at the gift shop, arcade and kids klub. Our daughter got to meet Scooby and read a bedtime book, and it was a Wednesday night off season! My largest complaint is sadly the water park. We were let down. It is very nice, clean, warm and warm water. Locker rentals were $16/DAY! After we found that out we started keeping our things with us. It was an impressive place but our daughter is almost 3 and she was bored. She wanted to do slides that she is able to do at our local water park, but here she was not. We weren't even allowed to go down her slides with her without being yelled at. It was not family oriented at all. Also, lifeguards are RUDE, literally pace around and make you feel like you are in there way. Our worst experience was when we asked about a certain ride and the girl at the bottom said yes we could go up but the girl was pregnant so please don't make her life tubes for us. We thought ok, that's fine we are old enough to do it on our own. Got to the top and she made rude comments at us saying "Are you kidding me", meaning we were "too old" to go down. She was lazy, and if you are going to continue to work while pregnant (which I think is great, don't get me wrong), find a place that you can actually WORK! I paid my money, and wanted to at least try a few of the bigger attractions. She needs to go find a desk job apparently because she was not even friendly.

We would go back but only when our daughter is old enough to enjoy herself and not get yelled at.. The hotel end is awesome, the water park is a letdown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junior3438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a lodge, so do not expect luxury. However, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the place is "kids focused". I took my 8 year old boy to spend a night at the lodge and play at the indoor water park. He loved it! The water park is fun, safe and clean. It was not crowed when we visited and they had plenty staff to watch and help.

The restaurants are fine. Again, nothing fancy, just simple foods but sufficient.

The kids Klub has activities and gifts for kids. Here are my suggestions for booking the packages: I purchased 3 packages for us. Though they were fine, I would suggest you not to book them in advance. All the items are still available for purchase if you would like to purchase them, and they don't cost too much more individually. However, individually you have more choices.

Another suggestion is for the breakfast package. I purchased that as well but would not do so next time. All items on the menu were below $10. You don't really save too much and just in case, you may want to have breakfast at other restaurants instead of at Johnny Rockets.

One more suggestion is to bring as little as possible to the water park. Your rooms are right upstairs. If you rent a locker at the water park, you will have to pay.

I found the regular rooms were spacious enough. Did not feel the need for anything more than that. Did not see the kids cabin rooms. Could be fun for the kids if they want to have "private time". My son was so busy with the water park, he barely spent any time in the room.

Overall, a fun and simple place for kids. Safe, clean and priced reasonably.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaChane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Although it was a three hour drive to the Lake George area, the New Years Holiday trip we took was worth it. It was actually turning 2011 but there was no option to choose. Two years later and the kids still remember. The place was surprisingly not extremely crowded. The water park was clean and fun along with a long fast, high long tube ride, lazy river, and my personal favorite - the Flowrider - which was a challenge as an older mom but had to try. Yes, you will fall off, but that just adds to the fun - no judging here. My kids and I had a blast and the food was good. Try the restaurant or Jimmy Rockets for a burger. I booked with Expedia at the last minute. Do try discount booking agents to try to get better pricing if available. The staff was great and various characters appeared at times. There was also a schedule of activities for kids. I met guests that actually stayed at a nearby hotel and bought passes for the waterpark - another option. I say, stay at the friendly lodge with rooms right there, especially in the winter. Good pIace to go when it's cold and warmer travel destinations aren't do-able or as an extra bonus vacation. I would love to go back sometime. I was alone with my two kids and we all had fun!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joygarbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Large family comfortable rooms with "lodge " theme. Water park great warm indoor fun for adults and children of all ages regardless of the weather. They could use a few more tubes in the lazy river ,as it is very popular.



Room Tip: 2 bedroom with 2 bath well worth a little extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay during Memorial wknd. We arrived Friday afternoon around 2 and were able to check- in. We had a traditional " suite" (2) queens and a pull-out. The room was big, but only 3 drawers for clothes and no closet. The tv system was advertised with a gaming system, but as we found out, they currently had no provider, thus probably the same reason for poor tv reception and lack of HD/ Digital channels.. ( It rained for the first 2 days, so tv was a must with a 3 & 8 yr old. ) For my kids they loved the water park. I can recommend going during later hours as most of day- pass groups leave and not as crowded. My husband found something " questionable" in kiddie pool area and it was quickly cleaned by staff. As my husband and I are seasoned travelers for the money we spent per night we found the whole resort subpar. Coffee bar had limited hours, restaurent choices lacking( you can't eat Johnnie Rockets every night), rooms had no directory book with no local information, the housekeeper pointed us to the yellow pages and the staff gave us a 2x3 slip of paper with hotel directory...If you asked my kids --they thought the trip was awesome, so I guess that is all that matters...

Room Tip: Request top floor, seemed to have less activity and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great weekend at the lodge. The waterpark was great and the kids all enjoyed themselves. Arcade was fun (but kind of expensive for tokens/prizes) Our boys were between the ages of 13 and 10. We had a 3 queen suite which worked fantastic for 2 adults and 4 kids. We brought healthy snacks and drinks for the room - kitchenette was great (all the restaurant food is pizza, hot dogs, pop). All in all a very good fun weekend at the lodge. Very clean, safe and well run.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#69 of 89 in Lake George
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#17 of 89 in Lake George
412 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing