We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped For and More!”
Review of Equinox Balloons - MOVED

Equinox Balloons
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Equinox Balloons moved to Phoenix, Arizona in the fall of 2014. Please check out our new listing in Phoenix! We offer hot air balloon rides in the Lake George, New York area, including Glens Falls, Saratoga Springs, and Bennington, Vermont. Our balloon rides include a 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you don't enjoy your time with us, we'll happily refund your money. We are the fun and personal balloon ride company in upstate New York. Visit our website to learn more and book your flight today.
Albion, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped For and More!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband booked a Ballon ride for us for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. It was the best experience I have had in a very long time. Our Pilot Jason and his crew were so kind, everyone made us feel like we were part of his crew. Jason was also very informative about what to expect during our flight. He holds nothing in and he wants there to be no surprises, as safety is his number one priority!
While up in the air ( and on the ground) Jason made sure that we would never forget our flight, from pointing out wild life on the ground to brushing through the tree tops,and to those first time flyers he gives a special "christening" at the end of the flight. Jason is an amazing pilot, and he loves to introduce new comers to the sport of Hot Air Ballooning.
Equinox Balloon's Website is also very easy to navigate and they are always willing to answer any questions you may have. On the morning of our flight we received a text message from Jason to confirm our meeting location, and after our flight he brought us back to our chosen location to meet up with our family. As we were in town for the Hot Air Balloon Fest.
Thank You Jason for a Wonderful Experience, and hope to meet up again soon for another Flight !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason E, Owner at Equinox Balloons, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Amy, thanks for telling everyone about your hot air balloon ride with us during the Adirondack Balloon Festival. We had a great time with the two of you, and we can't wait to see you again next year. Just let us know when you're ready to reserve your next flight, and we'll make the process as easy as possible. In the meantime, make sure you visit our recent passenger photos page on our website and check out the photos we took while you were with us. Soft landings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Balloon Ride”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My Dad and I reserved a balloon ride with Equinox Balloons during the Adirondack Balloon Festival and had a wonderful experience. This is the first time either of us had flown in a balloon.

We got up early to get to Crandall Park for the balloon ride. Our pilot's name was Jason Elkins. First thing he did was to introduce us to his crew. There were lots of them and they all obviously enjoy what they do and it was great fun getting to know them. We were well briefed prior to the flight. They will even teach you to help setup and take down the balloon if you are interested in the hands on part.

Everyone should go for a balloon ride at least once. It is a very peaceful one-of-a-kind experience and, except for when the burners are fired, it is very quiet. There is no buffeting or turbulence or vibration at all. The ride feel is absolutely smooth. Also, since you are moving with the wind you do not actually feel the wind. We went up very high and drifted for a long while and the view was spectacular.

During the ride it became obvious the the pilot makes a big difference in the experience you will have. Jason has been doing this for a long while and tells lots of interesting stories and likes to answer questions. He also looks for opportunities to make each ride unique. On our ride we were lucky enough to brush the tops of some tall evergreens, have our balloon "kiss" another balloon (piloted by a friend of Jason's), and to touch down for a minute or two and lift off again.

Equinox Balloons is a professional outfit. Reserving the flight was easy and we received regular emails and updates to coordinate the ride. You will become quite knowledgeable about ballooning between all the information Jason and his crew provide. These folks love what they do and it shows. To cap things off there is a special ceremony they provide after the landing for first time flyers. Start to finish a first class experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason E, Owner at Equinox Balloons, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Mike,

Thanks for taking the time to tell everyone about your hot air balloon ride with us. We really enjoyed spending time with you and your dad. It's always great to hear what our passengers enjoy most, and I am thrilled that you had such a nice time with us. I brag about my crew often, but it's comments like yours that really mean the most. There are a lot of very good hot air balloon pilots in the Lake George area, and it means a lot to us that you chose Equinox Balloons for your first balloon ride. I hope we have the chance to share the experience with some of your friends too. Thanks again for waking up early to see the world from a different perspective.

Best,
Jason Elkins
Equinox Balloons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best balloon ride ever”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Seeing the countryside from a hot air balloon is an unforgettable experience and I highly recommend flying with this outfit if you want to try something different in the area. Jason, the pilot, is a real professional who has been flying for decades and his enthusiasm is contagious. Equinox Balloons is very well organized and Jason makes it easy to arrange a flight. I'd definitely fly with his outfit again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason E, Owner at Equinox Balloons, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Dave. I remember your balloon ride very well, picking nuts and watching birds as we drifted through the tree-tops, before making a soft landing in someone's back yard near Glens Falls. I feel a little old when you say "flying for decades", but I guess you're right. Fortunately, I got an earlier start than most commercial hot air balloon pilots. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the balloon ride as much as we did. I know a hot air balloon ride is a once in a lifetime thing for most people, but I hope you'll join us in the air above the Lake George area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot Air Balloon Ride, this pilot is so enthusiastic!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Choose this company! I was able to contact the owner by text and got a message back immediately. The website made the schedule, contact info and pricing easy to see. All four of us were a little nervous about the ride, but once we hopped in the basket, the ride was so smooth and peaceful! The pilot/owner, Jason, was super fun and enthusiastic. The chase team was also super friendly. Don't wait to try a hot air balloon ride, because you do need to be agile enough to swing your leg up and climb into the basket!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason E, Owner at Equinox Balloons, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Kate, we had a blast with the four of you, and hope you'll join us again sometime soon. We'll continue working on the website to make it even better, and will strive to get back to each potential guest as quickly as possible, no matter how they choose to contact us. We love what we do, and feedback like yours brings a smile to our faces. Soft Landings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing