We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly and open late for check in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake George Campsites

Lake George Campsites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queensbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake George Campsites
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and open late for check in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We arrived into Lake George at 1am so had no luck finding an open campground anywhere until we pulled up to Lake George Campsites, just past Six Flags. Thankfully the attendant let us stay the night with a small deposit.
The grounds are relatively clean, and the sites all have fire pits and picnik tables. There is a games room and a lovely pool as well as a camp shop but buy firewood elsewhere unless you want to pay a fortune!

The pros about this campground are its facilities, convenience, and proximity to the attractions.

My only complaint is how close it is to the I-87....when we woke up the next day we noticed we were sleeping beside the highway and bought ear plugs to avoid another noisy night. Many people might find this offensive due to the very nature of camping and getting away from the city noises, but to us it was a minor irritation.

Ask at the front desk for discount coupons to Six Flags!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amart106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

My family and I just returned from a 3 night stay at Lake George Campsites in Queensbury NY. We were extremely disappointed at the very poor management of this facility. The ladies room repeatedly had NO toilet paper and no paper towels, even after we informed the manager after the second night. After the third night, there was still no toilet paper in the ladies rooms at 8am on the 4th of July. The toilets were also disgustingly dirty. In addition, there was no enforcement at all of quiet hours, and the guests next to us had their children running around and shrieking at 2am. They were also setting off fireworks day and night, even after the police had been called by 2 different guests. We tried to contact the staff but no one was working overnight. I now know why there were still sites available here when there were no others in Lake George 2 weeks before July 4th.

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We have stayed at this campground twice this year on Memorial Day and Labor Day. It is very basic campground but very reasonable compared to the more expensive ones. Our main draw for staying here is we are six flags fanatics and visit often since six flags is a short walk from the campground. In addition, there is roller skating, mini-golf, mini-cars, arcade, food and ice cream all within walking distance since we do not tow a car. The staff has always been helpful. The sites are mostly wooded and it is close to highway but with AC on, you rarely hear anything. I know they got purchased by Morgan resorts so I would expect new things in future. Overall great location for Six flags or trip into the town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtbr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Camped here the weekend of the Adirondack Nationals Sept. 11,12,13.
Was a nice campground and staff was great but when we booked our campsite we were told that it included wi-fi as well as cable tv neither of which were available (if not for this reason I would've rated it higher). The girl at check in said that they'd been having the same problem with their call center all summer, they repeatedly told them that no cable & wi-fi was not available at this location but when taking reservations call center tells customers that both services are available.
All in all it was a good place to camp, bathrooms were kept clean and good showers, staff was friendly and helpful. I would camp here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
1.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#3 of 11 in Queensbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake George Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake George Campsites

Property: Lake George Campsites
Address: 1053 State Route 9, Queensbury, NY 12804-1375
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Queensbury
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Lake George Campsites NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing