We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!”

Jacks American Bistro
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Queensbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have never had a bad meal at Jack's. The menu has lots to offer and they usually have specials. They are open for dinner only. The liver pate and bread for starters is great! They also offer some half-size entrees on their regular menu. If you are there when the lasagna is one of the special - order it - it's fantastic! The chicken parm is great as well as their short ribs. There is something for everyone. There is very nice bar and Dave will treat you right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality and value - a rare find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

You'll find plenty of restaurants in the Queensbury/Lake George area that feature the high prices and mediocre quality typical of tourist regions, soJack's in Queensbury is a really good find. The chicken liver pate served as a complemwtary starter is a very nicely flavored surprise, and the fresh bread with dipping oil is delicious. Salads are not spectacular, but made with fresh fixin's and without fault. Onion soup is well prepared and steaming hot. The variety of entrees, from baked haddock to braised short ribs, assures everyone will find something to their liking. Be sure to check out the daily flatbread special too. The dining room is smallish but tastefully decorated and does not feel crowded. There is also a bar with seating for 10. Staff are friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. They actually seem to care if their customers feel welcom and satisfied. Jack's is a wonderful break from the cookie cutter "bar and grill" chains. Affordable too -dinner for two with soup and salad (no alchohol) can be had for less than $50.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RocketMcAgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were pleased with the ambiance, service, and food at this restaurant. An unexpected and delicious pâté with chopped red onion began our meal as we awaited our delicious salad with cucumber wasabi dressing that was unusual and very flavorful. The warm bread was accompanied by a yummy olive oil dipping sauce. My shrimp francese was served with fresh spinach and a nice rice. Husband had nice size portion of haddock served with potatoes du jour: bacon and sour cream. Those potatoes! Bananas foster completed the lovely meal. Our bottle of crisp Pinot grigio was kept ice cold and was promptly poured when our glasses emptied. Very pleased with this restaurant and will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 401cottagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I were looking for someplace different to dine. I suggested Jack's as I had eaten there a few years ago and had a great meal. Jack's is not much for ambience, in fact it is located in a strip mall and it shows. That being said, the menu offers a diverse select of appetizers, soup, salads and entrées. We started out with a soup course. I had the shrimp and sherry bisque and it was delicious. My husband had the French onion soup which tasted good but looked more like gravy than a soup. I was a bit disappointed with my appetizer, a caprezze salad that only had three tomatoes and two slices of mozzarella. My husband had the calamari which had a nice lightly fried taste and was served with a choice of cocktail sauce or a ginger sauce. He asked to try both and enjoyed them equally. For dinner my husband had the sea scallops and they were very good. I selected the Kona and brown sugar crusted steak and was a bit disappointed in receiving a poor quality piece of meat. The crust had a delicious aroma and interesting taste but the meat was chewy and a bit grizzly. It was a bit of an up and down experience with some of the food being great and some being disappointing. In addition our waitress wasn't into her job and it showed. We probably won't be back any time soon as there are other places in town with just as good or better food and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ordered sesame salmon and short ribs. Both were delicious. And the blueberry cheese cake was perfect. The only thing we did not like was the decoration...there was none.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacks American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Jacks American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing