We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“clean, nice folks, nice room on a cold winters night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhaus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenhaus Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“clean, nice folks, nice room on a cold winters night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Large room in older motel, and we did not see any bedbugs, though apparently the Lake George area is infested with them at other motels, and from what I now read, this one had them at one time. Makes you wonder about the clientele who go to Lake George, because bed bugs just don't appear on their own. Dirty people bring them.
We found the room to be clean, the bathroom clean, and the bed very comfortable. The manager was very kind and helpful. He recommended a great place for breakfast, which we went to and enjoyed very much.
The motel could use an updating, and so it does not get a 5 rating from me. It was a good deal, in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The office alone is indicative of the rest of this place. Can't believe the Board of Health would give a passing grade to this establishment. I was not staying there but was asked to check it out for others. Couldn't possibly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polospal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I hate writing negative reviews, but when you pay to stay in a place that has BEDBUGS and the owners are still rude to you, I feel that it is my civic duty to spread the word.
My boyfriend and I, after hanging out in the room for several hours, discovered bedbugs living between the mattresses (one was crawling across the blanket, thank god, so we jumped up to check). After jumping in the shower, shaking out our clothes, and throwing our luggage onto the sidewalk, we caught one of the bugs in a cup and brought it to the front desk. The woman seemed utterly unperturbed by it and kept saying "That's so weird. We just had the rooms sprayed" over and over again. When we told her we wanted a refund, she said she couldn't do that because we'd "been there since the morning." She said she could give us a bigger room. When we insisted on a refund, she said she had to call the manager, and suggested we hang out in the bigger room to make sure we didn't want to stay in it (what?!). We are both very kind people and were insistent but polite about the whole matter; *she* was actually being rude to *us*. The manager, who had been there the whole time, came around the corner and also tried to get us to switch rooms. He finally did give us a full refund, so at least I can credit him for that. However: bedbugs are unacceptable and disgusting, and having to haggle for ten minutes about getting a refund on a bug-infested room is just ridiculous. In short, spend a bit more money and get a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this room for one night online. The non-smoking room that we booked reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was also very dirty, with stains on the sheets, hair in the bathroom and burns on the carpets. When we inquired about another room or refund the management refused. They were extremely rude and threatening. Ended up staying at EconoLodge close by for a cleaner room, better service and cheaper rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 255Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Pictures do not always tell the truth. This motel cannot berated as it needs to be torn down and rebuilt, In its day it was highly recommended. Currently it cannot be rated. Booked for 3 days - checked in and room was not clean. Complained to front desk and got another room, Fire alarm was beeping - went to complain - front desk was nasty and told me to get the f--- out if I didn't like it. Asked for my money back and was told no refunds called 911 for police assistance - got a refund and left. Propriotors not so nice.

Room Tip: find a better hotel - this one is not suitable for any travelers especially room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frank e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

They charged me an additional 30.00$ US for a third person in a room when I had already paid the charges thtough Expedia...... So if you go there becareful what the charge you.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfred821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queensbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#4 of 11 in Queensbury
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Queensbury/Lake George
0.5 mi away
Ramada Queensbury/Lake George
1.6 mi away
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhaus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhaus Motel

Property: Alpenhaus Motel
Address: 851 State Route 9, Queensbury, NY 12804-1787
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenhaus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhaus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhaus Motel Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing