We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked at the last minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Queens
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Queens Village
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Booked at the last minute”
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Our flight was unexpectedly cancelled due to the storms on the East Coast and had to find accommodations in the JFK area. All the major hotels were fully booked, but we found a room at this HoJo. We reserved a double/double room and were given the electronic card key by the nice and friendly night manager. When we opened the door, we were greeted by a strong musty odor and a king size bed. However, the room had a cute little LCD TV mounted on the wall. Nevertheless I had to go back to the office and tell the manager that we have booked a double.

In a New York minute he gave us a new room. This one didn't smell, but the TV was older - although bigger, and had free HBO. The carpet had some stains and one of the comforters had a small rip on it. The beds were OK, the bathroom was clean and the toiletries had a refreshing citrus scent.

I think the best thing about this HoJo is the free breakfast. We had a choice of cereal, donuts, croissants, fruit and apple/orange juice. The coffee machine charges 50 cents per cup, but hot water was free. Guests can also pick up a complimentary copy of USA Today at the lobby.

The hotel also had flyers for restaurants in the area. We picked up a menu for a new Chinese restaurant that just opened near the hotel, and had some food delivered. And when it was time for us to head back to the airport, the accommodating lady in the office called a private shuttle service for us.

For $188/night I thought it was pretty steep for this hotel's class, but we booked it at the last minute and were just glad we had a place to stay for the night.

  • Liked — Free breakfast
  • Disliked — Carpet stains, price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruisedlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    81
    48
    60
See reviews for
85
68
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I had chosen this hotel because of the price which included free parking and a continental breakfast. My only issue was that the maid did not bring fresh towels and clean the room the 2nd day. The beds were made, but that was it.

My family of 4 stayed here 2 nights for a trip to see the Mets and Yankees play their last season at their respective stadiums. Shea Stadium is about a 15 minute car ride away. $15.00 parking and they allow tailgating. Yankee Stadium is about an hour and 15 minutes by bus /subway.

My advice is to buy the all day pass for $7.50 and utilize the bus and subway for access to Manhatten. It was my first time in New York and their transit system is so easy to use. We felt safe the whole time...even when we returned at 1:00 in the morning.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — maid service was lacking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoSlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our yearly trip to watch the Yankees. This property is fairly new and very clean. There were plenity of parking spaces. We purchased the all day metro card for $7.50. We then took the bus to the subway station. This is cheaper than taking the Long Island Railroad. If you take the Long Island Railroad you will have to buy the Metro Card anyway to get around the city. We would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — This place was very clean.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jo-travel-alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Another great review for HoJo in Queens Village in Jamaica. I booked this hotel during an extremely busy time in NY (spring break for students) when most of the hotels in Manhattan had rates through the roof (i.e. +$200/night for a 2 star hotel), so this was a viable option at $89/night for a 1 king bed nonsmoking room.

Pricing: excellent value for the price! I booked directly through the HoJo website for the best price, because middlemen sites like Travelocity and/or Priceline will charge extra fees. Also, the cancellation policy and modifying reservation policy is really easy using the HoJo website--I could change my reservation (i.e. reduced from 4 nights to 3 nights very easily), and I could cancel up to the day before without penalty.

Location: Queens Village/Jamaica is kind of scary for those not used to ghetto environments, but luckily the LIRR station is literally 5 minutes away from the hotel. Walk fast late at night :) Just joking, there are actually not that many people around late at night (midnight-ish), so you'll be okay. There didn't seem to be much to explore in Queens Village itself, so we basically used the train twice each day (once to and once from Manhattan every day). The train ride is about 20 minutes, and $5.25 each way, with a smooth connection at Jamaica station. We caught a cab from JFK the day of arrival, and the total fee turned out to be around $30 (for two people). We figured it was worth the cost for easy transportation of luggage, instead of getting lost via Airtrain and subway, which I had read was one of the cheaper options.

State of hotel: Super super clean!! No problems with reservation, housekeeping cleaned room every day after we left for NY (around noon) and was nice and clean after we got back. Wireless internet (free) was absolutely indispensible, since we planned along the way using our laptops. Free breakfast was very nice (mini bagels, mini muffins, juice and coffee), absolute basics that got the job done.

Overall excellent 3-night stay at this hotel. You won't lose with this one!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank franniemeow007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queens Village
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Floral Park
Quality Inn Floral Park
#1 of 2 in Floral Park
98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
4.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jamaica JFK Airport
4.5 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
3.3 mi away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Queens

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Queens
Address: 22016 Jamaica Ave, Queens Village, NY 11428-2141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Queens Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Queens Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Queens 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel in Queens, New York. Only minutes from Manhattan by LIRR train only one block away from the hotel. Well decorated interior and maintained rooms at competitive prices. Minutes from JFK and LGA airports. Complementary breakfast, Wi-Fi internet and free car parking. Close to shopping and Belmont race track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Queens Village Hotel Queens Village
Howard Johnson Queens Village
Queens Village Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing