We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last of a dying breed: The family-run, neighborhood Italian restaurant.”
Review of Cara Mia

Cara Mia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Last of a dying breed: The family-run, neighborhood Italian restaurant.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not haute cuisine, but good Italian food in nice environment. Can be noisy, but that shouldn't dissuade you. They'll instantly make you feel like family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MitchPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful "neighborhood" Italian”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I lived in the neighborhood for almost 20 years before I tried this restaurant - as I'm generally not a fan of any restaurant in a strip mall. Cara Mia changed my mind. Not fancy but nice old school Italian restaurant with traditional menu. Good specials, excellent veal dishes, friendly, courteous service. The small room is busy and can get a bit noisy, but it the good food and moderate prices make it a very worthwhile dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Average food. Plating mediocre. Poor service. Seems that they were very understaffed when we were there. We went with friends who eat there frequently; even they were disappointed.
I wouldn't rush back. We have PLENTY of better that average Italian in our area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amclovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Good Italian food at a moderate price. Cozy and service is good

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Magic Touch: Good Food Reasonably Priced...Rare Jewel”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

truly old school NY outer borough's italian restaurant. Take outs mixed with seated patrons in loud, uninhibited restaurant. Clearly family favorite, but all tables animated, both young and old and everyone in-between. many dishes with same ingredients (Saltibocca, Monachino, Milanese offered with either chicken or veal) . Specials very good, seafood, meats, appetizers...I brought a couple of clients and their wives for a Saturday meal, impressed with the menu and just as importantly the service, great attitudes all! Mixes both brown and red sauced choices well (Northern and Southern Italian). Visited the Queens Village retaurant, looking forward to heading East to their Seaford spot, menu has differences but certain the same will be found on the South Shore!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CountFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cara Mia also viewed

Floral Park, Long Island
 

Been to Cara Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing