We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the ambience & the friendliness of the owners & staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Purling B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My friends & I have been going to the Bavarian Manor Inn for the past 13 years. We usually go in Oct (Columbus Day weekend) & in Feb. when the kids are off from school so they could go skiing at Windham Mountain.

The rooms are very cozy & uniquely decorated & very comfortable.. The atmosphere is very family oriented.

The owners and the staff are very accomodating & willing to help you & answer any concerns you may have. You feel welcomed as soon as you enter.

The food is prepared by the owner, who is a culinary chef. It caters to German food but there are other entrees to chose from. Regardless of what you order, it is tastefully served & delicious.

The breakfast was cooked to your taste. It usually is served during certain hrs but if you want to get an early start, the chef will be willing to accomodate you.

I highly recommend this place for a family vacation. Children & pets are welcome. I certainly will continue to come here for vacation or just a get-away.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bustercuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2006

The room we stayed in was slanted. When exiting the bathoom it felt as though you would fall.
The dropped ceiling was comming down, and you could see water spots from leaks.
Maids clean and you have no way to tell them to not enter your room (that they all have the key to)
The place gives a eerie feeling, and the owners are never around not even for emergency. We had to use a coat hanger to keep the shower tab down to let the water not back up. The water smelled like eggs. We were not warned that it was well water. There are not amenities for you if you are hungry, and the resturant is not open to house guests during the week. There are are NO stores open around the area.
The floor and structure has serious water and wood rot/damage.The screens in the windows had holes and you could not leave them open. The air conditioner was extremely noisy and did not cool off the extremely small room in 98 degree weather. Not good for people on medication who need to stay cool.
We were supposed to stay a few more days but decided to move to another hotel. The room is definitely over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CountryTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne_O, Owner/manager at Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2006

IHere is our response to the all the reviews about our family inn. Rest assured, we take each one seriously, in particular the "not-so favorable" ones, those we take most seriously of all. Some of the comments we will not respond to because they are seem really questionable. However, for anyone reading these reviews please know that our family and entire staff here takes your stay to heart and we do our best to provide you with nice rooms and good food. No we are not a mulit-million $$$ new resort. We may not be for everyone but this inn must be doing something right in order to be active and vibrant since the Civil War..
As for the condition of the Inn, we certainly agree that it has it's quirks but hey, it's 140 years old! (We did just finish it's outside re-siding. We had hoped it would be completed before the summer, but you know contractors, it was finished by Columbus Weekend.)
Our family lives here right here at the Inn. There's an apartment just off the dining room, we are always around here somewhere...all 7 of us! You see, it's not just a business it's a home. We welcome each of you to our beautiful Catskill Mountains and we'd be delighted to have you come and tell us of your travel experiences. Suzanne, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Our two nights at the Bavarian Manor were pleasant, relaxing, and enjoyable. The room was quite clean and the owners were very welcoming. The German restaurant on the first floor was truly a treat - the food was quite extraordinary. Breakfast was quite enjoyable as well. There are minor inconveniences and flaws with the 140 year old hotel, but all told, the experience is one that I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mikenyc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
upstate, NY
15
Reviewed May 28, 2006

Dirty....worms in tub, toilet seat was a mess, carpet stained, building is in a huge state of disrepair.

Very small "family room" that had 3 beds, one full and two twin beds.

Doors to rooms are hollow and the locks are simple indoor locks.....not safe.

Cost, $129 + per night should be at most $49, and that's pushing it. I put it that high because breakfast is included.

Beware of extra charges $2 per day per person and $1.50 per person for breakfast (no matter what age)

Breakfast was good but they limited the amount. You can have bacon OR sausage, eggs OR pancakes, no ham, no waffles.

Owners were nice

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

We stayed in room 38 which has a beatiful view of pond and wooded area. The made to order breakfasts were great, the hosts friendly without being intrusive. The rooms were cozy with the fireplace and decor. I would like to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2005

We had a wonderful time at the Bavarian Manor. We stayed in September 2005 in a "Special Room" : our rate was $119 per night. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and the charm of the place was very unique. Though I do feel some amenities and general housekeeping/maintenance details could be updated, they did offer wifi, and the spectacular breakfast (full) was cooked to order and delicious- definate assets. Our bed was very comfortable. The wrap around deck full of beckoning wicker furniture made the place very welcoming. I would most likely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank datkat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
114
Reviewed September 22, 2002

The Bavarian Manor Country Inn is one of the most charming places I've ever been to. You instantly feel relaxed upon entering. The rooms are all tastefully and carefully decorated and ever so comfortable. The food is unbelievable, all thoughtfully prepared by the chef/owner. The sauerbraten is the best I've ever had and makes one understand fully why the Culinary Institute has chosen the Bavarian Manor's kitchen as an extern teaching kitchen for Authentic German cuisine. The breakfast is a full breakfast, more to eat than you could ever fit in your stomach and delicious! The staff is warm and friendly and make you feel "at home." They all try and succeed in making you feel as comfortable as possible on your vacation. There's lots to do in the Catskills or it's a great place to stay and just do nothing but relax. There's trails on the property for walking, fishing in the large, very large pond. In the summer, July, the original German Alps Festival is held. It's a fun time with great food. They also do theme weekends, Murder Mystery Dinners, Psychic Fair Dinners. I understand they are open to bus tours and do special things like birthday parties and weddings. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would HIGHLY recommend this bed and breakfast.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purling
8.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
10.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Glen Falls House
Glen Falls House
#2 of 3 in Round Top
42 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
27 reviews
3.1 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#1 of 4 in Round Top
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant

Address: 866 Mountain Ave, County Route 24, Purling, NY 12470-3502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Purling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Purling
Price Range: $134 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Purling
Bavarian Manor Country Inn And Restaurant
Country Inn Purling
Purling Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing