We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Purdys
Post
Inbox
Search

“Blazer burger”
Review of The Blazer Pub

The Blazer Pub
Order Online
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Purdys
Cuisines: American
Description: The Blazer Pub takes its name from a term coined in western Ireland in the late 1800s by a group of enthusiastic foxhunters and their hounds. After a day's work, these hunters would gather in a temporary hut or shack to celebrate their hard-earned bounty. When the merriment ended, they set fire to the hut and watched while it blazed and burned down, thus enjoying the glow of the Galway "Blazer." While the name has been around since the 1800s, the building was constructed in 1928, serving as a rest stop along Route 22. The owners sold hot dogs to weary travelers right out of the front window. By the early 1950's, the rest area was fully converted into a restaurant and tavern. The Blazer Pub was first opened in 1971 by Tom and Emer Heavey. In April of 1988, Richard and Rita O'Leary purchased the business from the Heavey family.
Restaurant details
Description: The Blazer Pub takes its name from a term coined in western Ireland in the late 1800s by a group of enthusiastic foxhunters and their hounds. After a day's work, these hunters would gather in a temporary hut or shack to celebrate their hard-earned bounty. When the merriment ended, they set fire to the hut and watched while it blazed and burned down, thus enjoying the glow of the Galway "Blazer." While the name has been around since the 1800s, the building was constructed in 1928, serving as a rest stop along Route 22. The owners sold hot dogs to weary travelers right out of the front window. By the early 1950's, the rest area was fully converted into a restaurant and tavern. The Blazer Pub was first opened in 1971 by Tom and Emer Heavey. In April of 1988, Richard and Rita O'Leary purchased the business from the Heavey family.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love their blazer burger with gorgonzola cheese!! Fast service and reasonable prices what else you want..

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mediterraneandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 148 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2019

Tradtional Pub atmosphere, tasty pub menu at very reasonable prices. Huge portions of Frech Fries (get the small it is enough for two) very good corned beef. But why can't they take credit cards

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank roosterlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

When I first walked in it made me very happy to see a place that looked like this so close to home. It reminded me greatly of my favorite restaurant ever, which closed a few years ago. I'm still in mourning. The atmosphere and even some of the arcades they have there are exact. Even though the food was incredible, it's just not Norm's. We enjoyed our burgers greatly and their serving of fries was enough for the two of us and to maybe share with the waitress. I will certainly be back there because, despite my earlier comments, it did add the comfort of nostalgia and everything was delicious and prompt. Very grateful for my woman to bring me here and I look forward to my next visit. Gotta try that roast beef the guy next to me had.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank jv1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

It’s always a tough call when you go here. All of the food is so good! The double fried wings are amazing, pair them up with the steak fries and that’s a hardy meal! The soups are very tastes and so are the burgers. You won’t be disappointed after you leave.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Roontoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

This was a terrible experience - the positive reviews are obviously left by patrons without tastebuds or friends of the owner. The 1 star is for the average steak fries as the only redeeming quality.

From the service end - the waitress was rude and rolled her eyes when we asked for the check because we were running late. This wasn’t too demanding (we thought) after waiting an hour and 15 minutes for the food to come out (restaurant was 20% occupied).
Food wise - it came out cold and was mostly inedible.
If you enjoy flies, dirty floors, and feeling terrible for expecting the bare minimum of service - this is the place for you. If you want to spare yourself the experience of a lifetime just keep driving right on by.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 799joshuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blazer Pub also viewed

Mount Kisco, Westchester County
North Salem, Westchester County
 
Somers, Westchester County
Katonah, Westchester County
 

Been to The Blazer Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing