We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for picnics”
Review of B. Forman Park

B. Forman Park
Attraction details
Marion, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice for picnics”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very nice little park. NOTE...NO SWIMMING. Very nice for family reunions and small parties. Not much for kids unless you bring it with you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sneakaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for a Picnic, Wedding, Etc.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've visited B. Forman Park many times, and it's just a nice place to hang out. There are many picnic tables and grassy hills for picnics, and many of these have lake views. You can also scramble down the bank to the shore of the lake; this is a rockhounder's paradise because there are hundreds of red, grey, and brown lake-rocks ranging in size from pebbles to the size of my head. The playground is also very nice; there are a few swings, a few small "rocking" animals, and a couple of slides. Not too exciting, but they're great for children to play on (and the older ones of us, too!). The lodge is good for weddings and picnics - it would be a bit cold in the winter (I attended a picnic there in mid-march and froze), but the rest of the year it would be quite nice. There are also a couple of picnic shelters. The good thing about the park is that even if every available shelter and the lodge is rented, there is still room for others to roam the park. If all else fails, try heading right after you leave the parking lot, and you'll likely find some secluded quite.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“As good as I remember it!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a park in the town where I grew up. I have very fond memories of various family and church events that were held here. When we visited this year we stopped by the park and sat out on the benches facing the lake. Those who care for the grounds are obviously doing a great job, since in many ways it is better kept than I remember it.

It is a wonderful place to have a picnic or to play ball.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,946 reviews
894 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
“Great place for a picnic”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We visited B. Forman Park for our family 4th of July picnic. Once again, this place turned out to be the perfect place to spend an afternoon and evening. It's big enough to give everyone their own table and BBQ grill, if you need one, and it offers a wonderful view of Lake Ontario. It's also a great place to go when the heat and humidity is sweltering, because the lake always lowers the temperature by at least ten degrees, and there is always a wind to keep you a little cooler.

By the way, one other thing that is nice (especially this summer), is that there is no algae to stink up the shoreline, unlike several of the other local spots nearby. The waterline is so clean that several kids were swimming in the water, (which is not allowed, by the way).

The only disadvantage to this park is that there is no place on the grounds or nearby to purchase food or drink, so bring a cooler along with everything you'll need.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, N.Y.
Level Contributor
295 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice offering made possible by former clothing chain family”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This lovely park on Lake Ontario offers all of what county parks do everywhere, plus the beauty of the Great Lake.

Helpful?
Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B. Forman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing