We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1880 House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
100
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupsbreadhome away from homesalmonfishing tripsteelheadtug hillgas fireplacexc skiingresident catpenalty boxa great place to stayvisiting the areaupstate new yorklindaaccommodationsriver
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 105 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2011

A fantastic, clean and comfy place to stay owned by a woman who knows what she's doing.
This building has it all; location, comfort and mid afternoon offers you a complimentary selection of home made soups accompanied with their hot breads right out of the oven.
One may go out for the day, or stay in to sit around the beautiful living area and just read/relax in front of the fireplace.
We have already booked our rooms for next years, four night, mid week stay.
PS---we are into winter sport (ski and snowshoeing), and the free State Parks are all about a forty-five minute (easy) drive from town. The base snow was deep and gets almost a daily brushing of new powder.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJCollieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Great food, super accommodations combine with central locale for some of the best winter sports on the east coast. Whether you cross country ski or snowshow, 1880's house is a great starting point. Hosts Linda and Dawn are super.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I’ve stayed at the 1880 House in Pulaski several times over the New Year holiday with my ski club. And each year I am delighted to see that it’s the same, warm, quaint and friendly home it was the year before. In my opinion, there is no other place in the area that can compare to the 1880 House. It is like coming home. The owner, Linda, and her daughter Dawn are always in a good mood. They truly enjoy what they are doing and it shows. I’ve stayed at many B&Bs and all of them have been nicely decorated and each of the inn keepers accommodating, but the difference between a nice stay and a memorable stay is the warmth of the people that run the inn. Linda and Dawn are warm, wonderful people. The home is nicely appointed with Linda’s family pictures and heirlooms. Our room had two king size beds, a gas fireplace and our own bathroom at the end of the hall. This year Linda had all new flat screen TVs in the rooms. Breakfast every morning is a different buffet of quiches, eggs, pancakes, French toast, cereal, fruits, and oatmeal (Linda’s pumpkin pancakes are to die for). There is something different every morning and in the afternoon after a long day of skiing the soup is on! Just walk right into their kitchen and help yourself. I challenge you to find any other inn where they not only let you into their kitchen, but welcome you to come in and sit down. Our club arranges a New Year’s Eve dinner that Linda prepares. It is always delicious and served sit-down style. There is a guest refrigerator in the basement where she lets guests keep their food items and beverages. Guest area also welcomed to keep their skis or fishing gear in the basement too. This year we did something we’ve never done while visiting the 1880 house. The snow conditions were less than great, so we spent an entire day just relaxing and reading by the fire in the living room. It was perfect. We feel really lucky to have found out about this Inn. It’s such an oasis in the middle of this skiing/fishing town. It’s like staying with family.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedlfastr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

If traveling to the Pulaski area The 1880 House is hands down the best place to stay. I stayed there twice in the past two weeks and each visit was wonderful.

I cant say enough about the hosts, Linda and Dawn. They have very friendly personalities that add even more to the already warm atmosphere of the B&B. They serve delicious hot soup (made from scratch) with bread each afternoon that helps warm the soul after a cold day of fishing. Linda is very knowledgeable about the fishing conditions and knows all the goods spots on the river. If fishing conditions are not good, Linda will goes so far as to call guests and warn them of the poor fishing conditions recommending guests to move their visit to another date.... what other hotel/B&B that you know of is this honest?

They have a great list of fishing guides. Myself and my father went on a trip with Pat Miura and I highly recommend him.

The rooms in the B&B are great. King size beds that are very spacious. There is a great hang out room in the basement with very comfortable couches and a flat screen tv where one can take a nice nap after a day of fishing.

All in all, I cant recommend the 1880 House any more highly. This is my first time posting on trip advisor and the mere fact that I was driven to write this from my two experiences staying there should tell you how great the place is.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benkrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We have visited the 1880 House several times and always had a good experience. Linda and her Daughter Dawn are constantly in the kitchen. After the expansive breakfast they have several kinds of homemade soup and bread available for all guests to enjoy. throughout the day. You can also arrange for a full dinner at an additional cost, and the portions are very generous. These people know how to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiker095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews