We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Arriving by train I called the front desk and instead of waiting for their free shuttle, they offered instead to pay for my taxi. That was a nice surprise! Arriving at the hotel set back from the busy highway, the front desk area was bright and clean.

In the morning the breakfast was better than expected with a wide variety of breads, hot dishes, and cold items. The outside patio was open and clean and it was delightful to be able to have breakfast outdoors in a lovely setting. Another nice surprise!

The majority of the rooms are in a 4 story tower that is set far back from the street and the backside rooms face a quiet residential area.

I had asked for a non connecting room. After I reached the room I found it was a connecting room. I checked with the front desk, and there were non connecting rooms available, but I was too lazy and tired to change.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Hi - Thank you for staying with us. It's great that you took the train up to Poughkeepsie - many of our guests do just that! I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast - it's a highlight and i'm not sure if you're aware but the bagels on our breakfast are authentic NY bagels made locally! We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    145
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
110
84
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed one night at this HI Express on our way to New York City. It was a good hotel, comparable to other HI Express we stayed before: clean, comfortable, polite staff, good breakfast in the morning.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank courcellesqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, May 8, 2010
Hello - thank you for your kind words - we appreciate your stay with us! We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to New York City - or just spending time in the Hudson Valley! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Excellent choice for visitors to CIA... maybe a 10 minute drive. Clean, well appointed room. friendly staff, great Continental breakfast. Hyde Park Brewery a short distance North on Route 9. So glad I spent the extra $30.00 over the Super 8!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danicraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Hello - Thanks for letting us know about your great stay! We appreciated you being here and look forward to having you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Very clean and well run. Good location for Hudson valley visits. Excellent hot breakfast and evening food around 6pm too. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotus50k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tapit
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

great room and fine time. near what we wanted to be near.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My family and I went on vacation to Western Massachusetts and the Hudson River Valley of New York. We checked in to the HI Express-Poughkeepsie and were greeted by a friendly lady at the front desk. She was very professional. We then asked about good Italian restaurants in the area. She then asked the Groups Coordinator for the Hotel about the good places to eat in the area. He recommended a wonderful place called Cossimo's. We put our stuff in our room, and it was very nice. The room was complete with a flat-screen television, coffee pot, mini fridge (not stocked), microwave, two double beds and an ample supply of pillows. After resting in our room for a while, we then went to Cossimo's for dinner. It was very good. Prices are in the $9 to $20 range for dinner. We mentioned that we were staying at the HI Express, and she gave us 10% off our total bill because they work with them. We went back to our hotel and went up to our room. I went downstairs to the breakfast area to get some coffee, and there were some free chocolate chip cookies down there, which were very good. The next morning, we went downstairs for our free hot breakfast. It included coffee, juice, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, milk, cinnamon rolls, sausage, biscuits, bread, bagels, and cheese omelettes. The breakfast is served until 10am, and checkout is at noon. The whole staff was very friendly, and the HI Express-Poughkeepsie is a wonderful hotel that I would definitely stay at again. The one great thing about it was the price we got our room for. We did one of the special Hotwire rates and got it for $65. If you're ever in the Poughkeepsie area, stay at the HI Express. You will not be disappointed. It was only a few miles away from the FDR Home and Library.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel itself looked to be in good condition. The staff was usually friendly with the exeption of one woman who was rude and wouldn't tell us about places to eat in the area. The breakfast was pretty good and the location was convient and easy to find. My only real complaint was that the hours the pool was open was kind ridiculous, it was only open from 10-8. Anyone who actually left the hotel for any purpose couldn't use the pool.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwSe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing