We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$114
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
139
166
74
22
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
166
74
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskcinnamon rollspancake machineshuttle serviceroom was cleantrain stationcomplimentary breakfastgreat place to staybagelsking roomconvenient locationstaff was friendlyculinary institute of americasofa bednice breakfastnice poolmarist college
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 407 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night before our cruise from NYC. The staff were fantastic. They watched our vehicles while we were gone, and the maint man / shuttle driver was very accomodating. The rooms were spacious and clean and the selection of channels was good. If we cruise from NYC again, we will definitely be staying here!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

I am so pleased that you chose our hotel during your visit to NYC! You really were a 'Smart Saver' by choosing to stay overnight at our Poughkeepsie hotel because, why spend twice as much or more at a hotel in NYC when you could stay with us for great accommodations, friendly service AND free shuttle service to the train station which has a direct route right into Grand Central Station! I hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

People (hotel staff) here are very good. The hotel is located at a nice place. once you have your breakfast you can go out and feel the bright sunshine. Rooms are good and clean. A wide variety of breakfast is available. In all a good place to stay at Poughkeepsie.

Room Tip: Make sure you have water bottle full of water in the night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navneetarya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! Our friendly staff is happy to provide great customer service to our wonderful guests. Many of our guests also enjoy to walk onto our outdoor patio after breakfast to enjoy the sunshine, hopefully it will start to warm up again soon! We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon!

Best,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We came to the Holiday Inn Express based on reviews here on Trip Advisor and the hotel did not disappoint. We were in town for a family funeral and the hotel staff treated us very well and with respect which was very nice during a tough weekend.

Very clean property throughout, with a large space for the morning breakfast which is very nicely done with both hot and cold foods. Coffee and cookies are available all day, though the coffee was cold in the afternoons so you'll need to heat it up in the microwave. We stayed in room 432 and it was well appointed including a mid sized fridge and microwave. Comfortable bed with both soft and firm pillows which were nice, though we did bring our own pillows from home with us.

Wi-Fi is free with a code given to you by the front desk.

Hotel is VERY convenient to IBM, Vassar, Marist, Culinary Institute, Hospitals, Roosevelt / Vanderbilt homes and all points in Poughkeepsie, Hyde Park and beyond. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to stay in Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biscardicreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

On behalf of myself and the entire staff we want to extend our condolences for your loss. During this tough time I am glad that we were able to provide you and your family with comfort and respectful hospitality. I am happy that you enjoyed our clean accommodations and amenities such as the refrigerator and microwave, which are available in every single one of our guestrooms. I do want to apologize for your experience with the afternoon coffee temperate and have alerted our staff to ensure that the issue will not arise again in the future. I very much appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back to visit us again under different circumstances.

Warm Regards,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean place, very nice staff Oliver the assistant gm is very nice and helpful. Room is awesome and very big.
Thanks guys for the experience I would come back in a heart beat. Nice having a couch with the room cause you're able to have company without people sitting on the bed

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Army1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We are very happy to have you and your fellow warriors stay with us! I will let Oliver know that you have given a special shout out to him for his excellent service, he will be very happy to hear it. Cleanliness, comfort and great guest experiences are what we strive for and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie again soon!

Sincerely,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while in town for a wedding. Location was great for us as it was 5 minutes from the church and about a block and a half from the reception area. The hotel even ran the shuttle back and forth for us as a service to those who were drinking and because of snowy roads. They accomodated us with joining rooms so my wfie and I had one and daughters in the other. Made me feel a little safer as a dad. Nice breakfast with hot and cold choices. Not much to compare it to in Poughkeepsie on my part but it served our needs nicely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Tim M,

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this past weekend! We were happy to provide transportation service in our hotel shuttle for the wedding. We find that this complimentary service comes in great handy to wedding groups in addition to all of our guests who are welcome to utilize the shuttle free of charge for transportation to any local area destinations. Opting for the adjoining rooms is a convenient option when traveling with family and it was our pleasure to accommodate! We hope to host you again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews