We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at the end of October. This chain has never disappointed me and this is no exception. First Ali checked us in and was very pleasant and did everything he could to make our stay pleasant. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast as always was good. I would recommend this hotel and hope to come back again when driving to New York City.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 4905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear 4905,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community! Your remarks about our clean rooms and good complimentary breakfast are greatly appreciated! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Ali's pleasant and attentive service at the Front Desk. I will share your review with him, he will be thrilled to hear it! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie in the near future. Enjoy your Thanksgiving holiday!

Sincerely,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    152
    65
    21
    6
See reviews for
125
85
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

On the main highway. Convenient for Hyde Park attractions---the Roosevelt home and the new museum (a must see about the history of the Roosevelt administration), Also, Eleanor's "retreat" collage called "Val-Kill". (They didn't kill Val---but "kill" is a dutch term for brook or creek) and the Vanderbilt palatial mansion. ( It is said that Vanderbilt had enough wealth to be the 1% ALL BY HIMSELF !!) And you start your day at the Inn with an excellent complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: We went to the top floor for more view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Memory has faded on this one---but I am sure they allow you to signal no clean towels necessary if you are staying more than one day.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Roger S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! The staff and I are very excited that you enjoyed your stay here. We are glad that you found our hotel convenient and enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. We hope you will return to us soon. Have a great day and enjoy your Thanksgiving holiday!

Sincerely,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I know it's just a HIE but this place is so clean, friendly and has all the amenities a 60'ish couple needs (including afternoon cookies).
We have been here a half dozen times in our travels and it can't be beat.
Also, Poughkeepsie seems to be coming back. River Walk and the downtown river front are really nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjx47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mjx47,

Thank you so much for the nice review of your recent stay at our hotel! I am so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations, it's absolutely what we strive for! We are very pleased to know that you found our staff helpful and our guest rooms clean and comfortable. I agree, the area of Poughkeepsie has so much to offer, especially near the downtown riverfront and beautiful Walkway Over the Hudson. If you have not already done so, I might also suggest visiting some of the great historic sites in Hyde Park, only a short drive from our hotel. The Vanderbilt Estate in particular has an absolutely breathtaking view of the Hudson River. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie in the near future. Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My biggest complaint when staying in hotels is extremely hard beds. However, Holiday Express have proven to be an exception & this is why we choose this hotel. The bed was quite comfortable. I always check the bathroom 1st & it was very clean as was the rest of the room. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable when asked about local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Jazanana,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel! There are several things that we strive for at our hotel: comfort, cleanliness, convenience and friendliness...sounds like we were able to meet your needs in those areas, to which I am very glad. We certainly appreciate you choosing our property and hope to welcome you back to the Hudson Valley and the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie in the near future! Thank you again and enjoy your day!

Sincerely,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This Hotel is very clean and pleasant to stay at. The room is spacious and comfortable.
The breakfast was displayed nicely and had bot hot and cold items. Complimentary newspaper and pleasant front desk staff.
I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevator, as it could be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruin4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Bruin4ever,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comments regarding our rooms, breakfast and friendly staff. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie. Have a great day!

Best,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

It was a really nice experience to stay in this hotel. My stay was comfortable. Rooms are neat & clean with all the required amenities. Rooms were equipped with cable TV and wifi. Bed was comfortable . Complimentary breakfast buffet was good and had a good variety to choose. Overall a very good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajivnayyar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Rajivnayyar111,

Thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie. I'm glad that you found our hotel convenient during your travels with great amenities such as our complimentary continental breakfast, free wireless internet, cable TV and HBO, and clean rooms with comfortable beds! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Clean, comfortable room with good beds and a nice flat screen television. The front desk staff was extremely cordial - we received welcome baskets with goodies upon check-in, a really nice touch. The complimentary breakfast buffet was above average with a good assortment of hot and cold selections. All in all, a very nice property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffhColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear JeffhColorado,

We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel for your recent trip to the area! We try to provide the very best in guest service, convenient amenities and comfortable and clean accommodations. We hope you will return to us soon!

Enjoy your day,

Katherine Gambino, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
421 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing