We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness at the Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Holiday Inn Express. The decor is brignt and modern, the staff most helpful, and the breakfast wonderful. We used their shuttle bus to the train station, which is a convenient extra. The rooms are clean, the bathroom a good size, the beds very comfortable. The breakfast is very complete-cereals, hard-boiled and scrambled eggs,
muffins, bacon, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, yogurt, all milks, oranges, and more! (We had no children with us, so we don't know about the activities for them).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovevacation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear lovevacation02:

How nice to open up TripAdvisor and see your review title and comments! We are a happy family here and hope it trickles down to our guests as well. I am so glad you loved your stay, especially the breakfast. We hope you choose to stay with us again when your future travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 402 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was a little eerie being in a hotel 1/4 full, but the room was great.

The pool was a bit dirty, (lots of bugs and debris), but we swam anyway.

Best continental breakfast I have had at a hotel. Yogurts and healthy options and fruit cups, bagels and muffins and cereal, eggs and oatmeal. Staff on top of it to keep it fresh.

Room Tip: Overlook the pool for nice ambient light at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leaudemiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJS2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Leaudemiel, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the guestroom, staff, breakfast and shuttle. It is important to know what amenities our guests enjoy at the hotel and your detailed review helps us immensely. Please come back and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here in early July for a family wedding that took place at the Vassar College Chapel. This hotel was very conveniently located for the both the wedding & the reception. In addition, many sites such as the FDR home & Presidential library and the Vanderbilt House are just a short drive down the road.

I have to commend the front desk staff for all of their help & support when our car battery died right after we checked in. In addition, they had menus on hand so we could order lunch while waiting for the auto club to come change the battery.

The room ( a king with a sofa bed) was nice & roomy. The bed was comfortable but my daughter, found the sofabed mattress uncomfortable so she ended up sleeping directly on the sofa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Carly P:

Thanks so much for your terrific feedback! It's so nice to hear your comments on our hotel, location, and most importantly, our phenomenal staff. They truly appreciate it when someone takes the time to review our service. Sorry to hear about your daughter's experience with the sofa bed. We'll be sure to look into it. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

King bed, clean room , louder a/c unit, and you could tell that the hotel had put new touches on an older hotel, but they did it well. Complimentary breakfast offered and it was just so-so, but with the great room rate I bought breakfast elsewhere. Would definitely stay again with a good rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear RAA_10:

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. It is good to hear you had a great stay, and, that you noticed our improvements. We're always working on new ways to enhance guest experience and it is nice to know when guests take notice. Also, we do add new items to our breakfast from time to time, so on your next visit, let us know what you would like to see and we'll try to make it happen!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived very late after attending a race in Accord, NY. Didn't get to use very many of the services, but I can tell you the exterior is well taken care of, the front desk staff is professional and helpful, and the room was immaculate. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Price was a little high for my liking, but definitely is a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear RaceTrack Hunter:

I appreciate the time you took to review the hotel! I am glad to hear your comments on our staff and the look of the hotel, especially the cleanliness of your room. The staff here takes pride in everything they do, from greeting and checking in the guest, to servicing and cleaning the rooms. We hope you visit us again after the racetrack and get to enjoy our other amenities like the deluxe breakfast and outdoor pool.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Needed to stay a night in Poughkeepsie and chose this hotel based on closeness to an event we were attending, pricing, and reviews. It was a fabulous experience - check-in was quick - the room was large with a king bed, loveseat sofa, easy access to outlets, and clean, large bathroom. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, there were extra towels(!), a refrigerator and microwave. There was no road noise from busy Route 9 right outside the hotel either to disturb us. Breakfast was included although the breakfast bar was a little disorganized and confusing. But overall, it was well worth staying there and extremely comfortable. Check-out was a breeze as well! I'd definitely stay there again. (A bonus for me was looking across the street at the former home of my grandparents and feeling nostalgic!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyC842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Billy C,

Thank you for such a great review! It is good to hear you found your stay with us comfortable, efficient, and convenient. Comfort and convenience are two things we take much pride in! Our staff works diligently to ensure each and every guest is well satisfied with their accommodations. It's one of the reasons our guests keep coming back. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is just what you need when you want a clean, convenient, well-maintained hotel. I would not even review it - it's really just what you would expect a Holiday Inn to be - except for the great service of all staff, especially Oliver. I had a problem with a reservation by hotels.com and they would not help me out at all. Oliver was great. Kept in touch via cell phone and found us a room with a king sized bed & pullout sofa. The rest of the stay was fine, breakfast was not fancy - no omelet stations here - but certainly had plenty of choices for everyone. Location was ideal for all our sightseeing. But the best thing about this hotel was the willingness of staff to do whatever they could for their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumersfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Sumersfree,

Thank you for reviewing hotel. I appreciate your comments on the hotel, especially on our terrific staff! They work very hard to ensure our guests are not only satisfied with their stay, but have a memorable experience. One of the reasons our guests are loyal to us and keep coming back is because of our staff. I'll be sure to share your comments with them. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $112 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing