We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service - thank you!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Excellent hotel ... clean room, friendly helpful staff, good breakfast (included), free parking while in NYC for the weekend, free shuttle to/from the train station. We will definitely add this hotel to our "preferred" list. Karen Kuhn (Manager) was such a pleasure to deal with. Poughkeepsie is a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Sheila_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJS2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear John_Sheila_Ottawa,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the guestroom, staff, breakfast, free parking and shuttle service. These are some of the amenities that make our hotel a "smart" choice while staying in Poughkeepsie. We have shared your review with the entire staff and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    154
    66
    21
    6
See reviews for
127
88
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kentfield, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great reception by Oliver Silva
Priority club status got us upgrade to king suite with sofa bed in separate room and Jacuzzi and separate shower.
Nice Jacuzzi – but sofa bed was not good.
complaint dealt with promptly by Oliver.
Wifi terrible - very low speed at all times and constantly cut out and required renewed log-in.
No air conditioning in hallways and elevator made for damp and muggy atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbay415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear newbay415,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you were happy with our staff services and the upgrade provided for IHG Rewards Club members. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we regret that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Oliver is the best. He's friendly, fast, personable. I had a clean room, cold night's sleep (which was awesome on this hot day/night), great breakfast. I'll stay here the next time I'm in Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovepuntacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank for the great review! I am delighted to hear you enjoy staying here and will continue to do so when you visit the area. I know there are many choices in Poughkeepsie and I am very happy you choose to stay with us - we appreciate the loyalty! Oliver is truly wonderful, thank you for the compliment. He will be glad to hear you found him personable and fast. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for one night for a wedding. Staff were nice and friendly. Provided directions to the wedding venue. The rooms were clean and nice, but didn't leave a whole lot of room once we used the pull-out couch. Was a tight fit! The breakfast area was nowhere near big enough and was quite crowded at 8:30am. Went back an hour later and it was less crowded. Food was just ok. Not a bad hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. I am glad to hear you found the hotel clean and our staff friendly. The staff here strives for excellence in everything that they do and it shows. From a warm reception when you walk in the door to a very clean room, the staff takes pride in welcoming guests as if they were friends visiting their own homes! I am delighted to hear you will stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days so we could explore the Hudson Valley area. Very conveniently located for our plans. Nice room with a sofa, comfy bed with choice of pillows. Service was very good. The front desk was extremely helpful. The breakfast had more options than most chain hotels and the offerings were actually good. The shower was a little dated. But everything was clean. My husband found the a/c to be noisy, but it didn't disturb my sleep. I appreciated the fridge and microwave in the room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yellowlabmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel! I am thrilled to hear you found our location convenient, our staff friendly, and our breakfast options plentiful. The hotel staff truly works hard to give guests an enjoyable, comfortable, and memorable experience. We also like to add a few different items to our breakfast from time to time, to keep it fresh and new! We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here two nights when I went to the Country Living Fair in Rhinebeck. Clean, comfortable quiet room. Great water pressure. Decent breakfast with lots of choices. Friendly staff. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1happygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel! I'm glad to hear you found the hotel clean and comfortable. The staff does such a great job in maintaining the hotel, and in making guests feel welcome. I'm especially glad to hear you liked the breakfast. We add a few items here and there to the usual breakfast to keep guests such as yourself happy and satiated. We'll keep doing that! We hope you visit again soon.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because I was giving a surprise party at the CIA and it was close to the event. The sales mgr, Cruskaia, was SO helpful and made sure that everything went perfectly when our guests checked in. The hotel accommodated special requests with ease and professionalism. The rooms were clean and quiet. All of the staff were great. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pickytraveler610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review about your recent experience. I'm so pleased to hear that Cruskaia and the staff took care of your requests. We certainly strive to exceed our guest's expectations at every opportunity.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing