We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Garrison, NY
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly property”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Reception was extremely friendly and room was clean. However, there was always a faint smell of smoke, even though I was in a non-smoking room. Bed as very comfortable with a wide variety of pillows. Hotel is convenient to restaurants and shopping on Route 9 in Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the front desk and our convenient location. So sorry to hear there was a faint smoke smell in your room. The hotel is 100% smoke free, however sometimes there may be a guest who wasn't aware of the policy. We strive to ensure that does not happen, but when it does, we try our very best to air our the room and properly clean it. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    153
    65
    21
    6
See reviews for
126
85
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

What a nice place. We loved the people, the cleaningness, the service and how well kept it is. The included breakfast was also well presented and had very good choices. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepetitebombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel! I am truly pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. I strongly believe we have the best staff in town! They maintaining the hotel in an excellent condition and continuously provide superb service. It should feel like a home away from home. I hope you visit us again soon!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our family often stays at higher end hotels on vacation, but my daughter and I were just traveling around looking at colleges, staying at each place just one night. We just wanted to sleep well and not pay too much. I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. The beds were comfy, everything was clean, it was quiet, the complimentary breakfast was simple but nicely done, and the fitness room was very adequate. As a result of this stay, I will look into other Holiday Inn Express hotels in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 424susanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for such a lovely review! The staff takes pride in ensuring the hotel is in excellent condition, while at the same time, providing professional and courteous service consistently. I am pleased you found the hotel to be such a great value. I hope your daughter liked the area and enjoyed visiting the colleges nearby. Good luck with the search and do visit us again soon!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was so very pleasantly surprised with this stay. You see my Dad had just died and we were in Poughkeepsie to bury him. This entire ordeal was extremely rushed and stressful as my stepmother wanted to get him in the ground before Thanksgiving. He died on the 18th and I had to get my kids home from various colleges and airports then be in Poughkeepsie to wake/bury him on the evening of the 20th/21st.
At check-in Rachel had a gift for us as Priority members. I cannot tell you how very welcome the bottle of water and snacks were! The room was just perfect. Clean, crisp and conducive to a quick nap before the wake.
The bathroom was quirky in a neat way: the sink was in the corner! The room and bath were spotless, including the mirrors. With 51, 23 and 19 year old females, this was a blessing! We could all put on our make-up, do our hair, etc.
Because of the stressful situation I don't remember all of the details, but I can assure you that had they been negative I would have remembered! I am very happy to report that this Holiday Inn was so very nice and there were no issues ... which made for a comfortable stay just when I needed it!
Kudos to this staff! Thank you for your kindness! The cemetery that my Dad is in happens to be just across the street... when I visit with him, guess where I'll stay? ☺

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm very sorry to learn of the circumstances that brought you to Poughkeepsie.

I really appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

One of the blessings of America's lodging scene are the chains like Holiday Inn Express or Comfort Inn, etc. These are the places that offer what you need for a good night's stay, predictably. Granted, there is not much charm to them, but if you are on a business trip you will swap predictable for charm anytime. This hotel is a perfect example. Everything is clean, well done, efficient, and comfortable - all at a reasonable price. The breakfast even featured biscuits and gravy - not your typical lodging breakfast. Bedding was great, wifi free and strong, and bathrooms comfortable and clean. Service was efficient and courteous. The only issue that came up was the insufficient amount of hot water during the peak "shower" times. The management knows that they need to increase the boiler capacity and hopefully will do that soon.

Room Tip: take your shower before 7:30 or after 9 am if you like it hot.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that most of the experience met your expectation. As for the temperature of the water, I can assure you that it isn't typical for the property to not have water as hot as you would expect. I certainly apologize for that inconvenience.

Thank you again for your review. I hope to have to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A friend and I spent a night here recently on a weekend visit to the area to shop and tour and eat at the Culinary Institute of America, which is a 10-minute drive away in Hyde Park. The hotel is very clean, the bed comfortable, the complimentary hot and cold breakfast satisfying, and the staff friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again if I need a place to stay while visiting for a weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade12205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay! I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visit the area.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had to visit NY for family issues - this HI was convenient for everything we had to take care of.
The staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating to our needs. The room was especially clean, quiet, the beds comfy and the cinnamon rolls are a breakfast must. Know we will have to travel back to NY and this will be our only choice for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Since we had a u-haul trailer we wanted to be able to keep an eye - the room request we made so we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyLafayette_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience as well as the breakfast choices. We've recently added a few items to the breakfast buffet, and on your next trip I hope you'll like the additions as much as the cinnamon rolls.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
423 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing