We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Modern- Nice Place -Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Gypsum, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean & Modern- Nice Place -Would Stay Again”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here on a Hotwire reservation and everything was great. It's a typical Holiday Inn- nicer then many I have stayed in. Staff was great. Very clean. Typical Holiday Inn breakfast (good or bad depending on your taste). Good location between old downtown and the newer restaurants/ stores south of town. I got a great price on Hotwire which made it really worth it... the initial prices I saw online from other sites were closer to the "higher end" chains and if prices are close on my next trip I would still probably stay with them (Hilton, Marriott). But if you get a good price this place is clean, nice and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainHealthNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the staff and cleanliness of the rooms. The staff works very hard to make sure every guest feels welcomed the moment they walk in the door. It is very nice to hear you like the location as well. Don't forget we have a complimentary shuttle that can take you to places nearby, helping make your stay more comfortable, convenient, and still at a great value!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    152
    65
    21
    6
See reviews for
125
85
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hartford, ct
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have no idea what people are complaining about. I received a great rate on Hotwire and am totally pleased. The hotel was clean, room was very comfortable, employees were extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and full of options. The hotel is located on route 9 and is easy to navigate to "downtown" Poughkeepsie and is not far from 84. Despite being close to a busy road, I never once heard a peep from passing cars.

The only things that were even moderately an issue is that the shower does take a little bit of time to warm up. The free wi-fi was also a bit slow and was difficult to connect to (although this was probably my comp's problem.) I would recommend staying on a higher floor to avoid elevator/laundry noise that was more apparent on the 1st floor. Either way, I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boog204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and posting a review about your stay. I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed it the hotel and the staff. I appreciate your feedback regarding the speed of the wireless and how long it took for you to get hot water. We will work hard to ensure these issues are resolved.

Thank you again for taking the time to write. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Although there are mixed reviews here I am glad we stayed. It is right on the highway, which is extremely busy but we didn't have a problem sleeping & the access was easy for the many local attractions.
It is an older property but not in bad shape although there was slight mould in the bathroom. Replacing the sealant would soon fix it up. The breakfast area overlooked a patio which I'm guessing would be used in the warmer months. Love those cinnamon rolls!!
Negatives - noisy a/c (which we turned off) & the blackout curtains had holes in.
That aside, it was pretty much what you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience at the hotel. I'm happy to know that overall you enjoyed it very much. I appreciate your comment about the caulking in the bathroom. The maintenance department has been working steadily on redoing the caulking in every guest bath room and only has a few rooms left before the entire hotel is complete. I am sorry that you had to see that however.

We've figured out a way to fix the pin holes that somehow end up in the black out drapery. A little white out on the reverse side of the pin hold keeps the light from coming in.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. I hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for an event at the Dutchess County Fairgrounds. My room was comfortable and completely forgettable, in a good way. (I remember the bad ones but not the ones that are fine.) Bland furnishings, comfortable king-sized and sofa in a nice-sized room. There was some mildew around the bathroom drains but otherwise the room seemed reasonably clean. Mini-fridge and microwave are nice assets.

Other than the little hotel "shop", there are no restaurants within easy/safe walking distances, so a car is helpful. The price of the room was fine--but it was booked through hotels.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driveslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and then posting a review on Tripadvisor. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, with that one exception with the tub drain. I will discuss this with the housekeeping department to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Staff was friendly and room was clean and had all we needed but the price of the room was over the top. Heat was difficult to regulate (only at the unit). For the price of the room one should be able to set the temperature in the room to a set temperature. We woke up in the middle of the night when it was way too warm and we had to turn down the heat.

The room key also did not work properly. Had to really fiddle for the door to open. Seemed that it was due to an old locking mechanism.

The beds were hard, but to our liking (some other folks we talked to thought they were too hard). The coffee was very good. Breakfast was so so. Everything was buffet style and we had to use throw away plates. Next time we'll bring our own cereamic plates (fortunately we had brought our own decent tea/coffee cups). The breakfast room was actually too small for the hotel. Came down at 9.15am when the room was packed. Returned at 9.45 when we found a table. Had we been in a rush we would have missed out on the breakfast that is included in the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SonofBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and providing a review of your stay in October. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some issues while you were here. The heaters in some of the rooms have not been switched over to the type that can be set at a certain temperature. Before too long, every room will have the same type of unit. The room keys can be a little temperamental, we've noticed that our key system just requires entering and removing the key a little slower than what is common in electronic systems. Nonetheless, I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

I share your thoughts in terms of the disposable plates and utensils provided for the breakfast. While it is not our preference, we are required to use the disposable items according to guidelines set by Holiday Inn Express. I'm hoping that this will be changed in the near future.

It is important to me that our guests feel they have received a value after staying with us. October is the areas busiest month of the year. Our rates are set accordingly and are very competitive when compared to similar brands in the area, most often the lowest you'll find in the area.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Traveled in this area and stayed here for a night with 3 friends. Very nice layout of room, clean room. The bathroom was decet sized unlike some tight hotel bathrooms. They had a decent sized breakfast bar in the AM as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hgtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed it!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Aside from the absolutely absurd cost of $300 a night (tax included) because it was Family Weekend at Marist, this is a very nice property. Everything was very clean, new and up to date. The wifi was slow, but that's pretty standard at hotels. The breakfast was decent, with a limited selection but perfectly acceptable. The staff was friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us over Marist's Parents' weekend. I appreciate your candor regarding the cost during what is considered to be a "special event" weekend for the area. Not only did we strive to be the best value in the area, we didn't require a two night minimum as most of the nearby hotels did. I appreciate your review very much and take your comment seriously.

I'm happy that despite the cost involved, you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
421 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing