We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Worked for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Although there are mixed reviews here I am glad we stayed. It is right on the highway, which is extremely busy but we didn't have a problem sleeping & the access was easy for the many local attractions.
It is an older property but not in bad shape although there was slight mould in the bathroom. Replacing the sealant would soon fix it up. The breakfast area overlooked a patio which I'm guessing would be used in the warmer months. Love those cinnamon rolls!!
Negatives - noisy a/c (which we turned off) & the blackout curtains had holes in.
That aside, it was pretty much what you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience at the hotel. I'm happy to know that overall you enjoyed it very much. I appreciate your comment about the caulking in the bathroom. The maintenance department has been working steadily on redoing the caulking in every guest bath room and only has a few rooms left before the entire hotel is complete. I am sorry that you had to see that however.

We've figured out a way to fix the pin holes that somehow end up in the black out drapery. A little white out on the reverse side of the pin hold keeps the light from coming in.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. I hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    131
    54
    16
    4
See reviews for
99
74
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for an event at the Dutchess County Fairgrounds. My room was comfortable and completely forgettable, in a good way. (I remember the bad ones but not the ones that are fine.) Bland furnishings, comfortable king-sized and sofa in a nice-sized room. There was some mildew around the bathroom drains but otherwise the room seemed reasonably clean. Mini-fridge and microwave are nice assets.

Other than the little hotel "shop", there are no restaurants within easy/safe walking distances, so a car is helpful. The price of the room was fine--but it was booked through hotels.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank driveslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and then posting a review on Tripadvisor. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, with that one exception with the tub drain. I will discuss this with the housekeeping department to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Staff was friendly and room was clean and had all we needed but the price of the room was over the top. Heat was difficult to regulate (only at the unit). For the price of the room one should be able to set the temperature in the room to a set temperature. We woke up in the middle of the night when it was way too warm and we had to turn down the heat.

The room key also did not work properly. Had to really fiddle for the door to open. Seemed that it was due to an old locking mechanism.

The beds were hard, but to our liking (some other folks we talked to thought they were too hard). The coffee was very good. Breakfast was so so. Everything was buffet style and we had to use throw away plates. Next time we'll bring our own cereamic plates (fortunately we had brought our own decent tea/coffee cups). The breakfast room was actually too small for the hotel. Came down at 9.15am when the room was packed. Returned at 9.45 when we found a table. Had we been in a rush we would have missed out on the breakfast that is included in the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SonofBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and providing a review of your stay in October. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some issues while you were here. The heaters in some of the rooms have not been switched over to the type that can be set at a certain temperature. Before too long, every room will have the same type of unit. The room keys can be a little temperamental, we've noticed that our key system just requires entering and removing the key a little slower than what is common in electronic systems. Nonetheless, I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

I share your thoughts in terms of the disposable plates and utensils provided for the breakfast. While it is not our preference, we are required to use the disposable items according to guidelines set by Holiday Inn Express. I'm hoping that this will be changed in the near future.

It is important to me that our guests feel they have received a value after staying with us. October is the areas busiest month of the year. Our rates are set accordingly and are very competitive when compared to similar brands in the area, most often the lowest you'll find in the area.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
367 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Traveled in this area and stayed here for a night with 3 friends. Very nice layout of room, clean room. The bathroom was decet sized unlike some tight hotel bathrooms. They had a decent sized breakfast bar in the AM as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hgtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed it!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Aside from the absolutely absurd cost of $300 a night (tax included) because it was Family Weekend at Marist, this is a very nice property. Everything was very clean, new and up to date. The wifi was slow, but that's pretty standard at hotels. The breakfast was decent, with a limited selection but perfectly acceptable. The staff was friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us over Marist's Parents' weekend. I appreciate your candor regarding the cost during what is considered to be a "special event" weekend for the area. Not only did we strive to be the best value in the area, we didn't require a two night minimum as most of the nearby hotels did. I appreciate your review very much and take your comment seriously.

I'm happy that despite the cost involved, you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The sales manager made arrangements for us to stay at this hotel even after the block of rooms that were reserved were booked. That was much appreciated.

Upon arrival, the woman who checked us in was unpleasant and didn't seem suited for the hospitality industry.

The rooms were ok. They were clean but definitely in need of updates. There is a refrigerator and a microwave in the room which is a nice feature.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwsummer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the hotel. I appreciate your feedback and I am very disappointed to learn that the employee that checked you in did not allow you to feel valued or appreciated. I am certainly addressing the problem immediately.

I'm happy to report that we plan to redecorate the guest rooms in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

I welcome you to reach me at the hotel at your convenience if you would like to express your concerns any further.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Was in Poughkeepsie for a nearby wedding, and was happy to find this completely clean and comfortable place to stay. No complaints whatsoever... and special thanks to night clerks Ali and Regina (I think that was the name) who went out of their way to be helpful... and to Ali and management who assisted with my request for late checkout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongIsland163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed it here. I will certainly pass your review on to Ali and Regina.

We look forward to having you return on your next trip to the area.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Poughkeepsie, New York.At the moment you enter the bright, airy lobby of the Holiday Inn Express hotel Poughkeepsie, you are welcomed into a unique hotel with a mix of contemporary chic and charming traditional ambiance, personalized service, and contemporary amenities.The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie government hotel is centrally located in the Hudson Valley area of New York near many attractions such as FDR Presidential Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Cottage, and only 20 Miles south of Historic Rhinebeck, New York. Our hotel is near IBM, The Culinary Institute of America, Marist College and Vassar College. We are also minutes away from Vassar Brothers Hospital and St. Francis Hospital. Our newly renovated Poughkeepsie hotel features well appointed guest rooms, Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access, a Seasonal Outdoor Pool, Complimentary Local Shuttle Service limited, Free Guest Laundry Services, and 24 Hour Business Center with printing service. Start the day right with our Complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring the world's best tasting hot cinnamon roll, and many other delicious breakfast items including eggs, bacon, and sausage.Visit Poughkeepsie, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing