We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Calling this place a craphole is insulting to crapholes.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poughkeepsie Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Calling this place a craphole is insulting to crapholes.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Do NOT stay at this place. Chalk up the extra money for the Holiday Inn. Even the Super 8 is better than here. If there are no rooms available anywhere else in Poughkeepsie except here; do yourself a favor and stay down in Fishkill. Its worth the drive. Marist friends, family, alumni - do not stay here! Yes its one of the closest hotels to campus but so not worth it. The owners should be ashamed of themselves. There is no reason this place should look like this.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HOTEL0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    7
    10
    29
See reviews for
21
18
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed here because it was the closest vacant hotel near Vassar College. In short I paid $300 to sleep in dirt for 2 nights. As soon as I walked in the room I was greeted by the cheap decor of a street walkers work place & a horrible smell that remained throughout my stay. Everything in the room smelled!! The bathroom was far from clean....the shower looked like nobody cleaned it since the place was built. There were stains everywhere...on the walls, floors, toilets, & tub. The sheets were paper thin & although they didnt smell...the rooms odor made it very hard to sleep. I was also bothered by the fact that you had to go to the front desk for an iron, to place additional money on your room to make phone calls, & other things I thought just came with the room. Now I knew before coming to stay here I wasnt going to the Hilton but honeslty I would have rather saved my money & slept in my car. I slept fully dressed & took showers with flip flops on. Lastly, I ALWAYS put the do not disturb sign on my door knob....for some reason room service bypassed the door sign, came in my room, replaced only the toilet paper & towels, while leaving the bed unmade. I hated every minute of my stay @ Poughkeepsie Inn.

Room Tip: stay in another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bea_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poughkeepsie hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The hotel is a no frills hotel in a great location with owners who will go out of their way
to make sure you have a pleasant stay. It is quiet and on open grounds with a tasty breakfast provided in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poughkeepsieinn, Director of Sales at Poughkeepsie Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback with your token of appreciation. We try our best to keep the stay of our guests as homely as possible with clean rooms and basic amenities.
Such comments help in boosting/our as well our teams moral so as to outshine your past stay as and when you come back. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Needed an inexpensive place to stay overnight for a conference. The room was very clean, but the linens and furnishings were like nothing I've seen in a hotel in the US. The sheets and blankets were clean but full of cigarette and other holes. There was no fitted bottom linen so the sheets slid around the bed during sleep, revealing a bare mattress. The chair in the room was so filthy I doubt it would be accepted as a charity donation. I asked to have it replaced. They were courteous but had no other, so brought a sheet to cover it. Room was located at the end of the building. That evening a young man with a bike was lurking in the dark, smoking weed. When I came around the corner to look, he quickly disappeared into the shadows. They should lower their prices, stop pretending to be a hotel, strip the rooms to the bare minimum (toss the disgusting furniture) and turn it into hostel. Poughkeepsie could use a place like that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ionfacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Could only get a king smoking room.Cobwebs on ceiling.Bathroom stinks of urine.Shower does not work -if you unscrew showerhead you get a little stream of water out.Linen stink of smoke.Ciggarette burnmarks on bedcover and on bathedge.Blanket on bed washed out-full of holes.
BEST PART OF OUR NIGHT-The guest in the next room start banging on walls approx. 11 pm.Try to sleep..No sucsess,went to frontdesk 2 am and complain.police arrived.warned guest.Slept until 4am.police out again.warned person again.Police arrived 3rd time approx.5.40am .-took person away.No further sleep for us.
Was still charged $123.29 for this experience.Booked out-luckely their was a cancelation at the MARRIOT-what a difference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langdaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

In mid-summer 2009 I visited Poughkeepsie and, coincidentally, ate at the Coyote Grille, next door to the 'old' Econo Lodge. It looked almost abandoned. Early in 2010 it became necessary to bring the family together in May. After reading the, now, new Poughkeepsie Inn website, I called to enquire about the status of the operation and on-going renovations. The manager could not have been more helpful in accommodating family and friends arriving on different days and times, and offering amenities, if desired. The rooms were clean and attended to promptly each day. I stayed there for 11 days and would definitely stay there again.
Trencher41

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trencher41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pok ny
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

The hotel front desk is the most friendly you will come to meet, accomodating efficient and very pleasant. I believe her name is Ritu. A hilton it is not, but the room has always been available when requested and is clean and presentable. The bedding although clean could be updated a bit as the hotel is dated. The bathrooms have been updated with re-Bath and is fine. Towels etc are always clean and the bath is presentable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler12111009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
#8 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poughkeepsie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poughkeepsie Inn

Property: Poughkeepsie Inn
Address: 2625 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5396
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Poughkeepsie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Poughkeepsie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Econo Lodge Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing