We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Courtyard Poughkeepsie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Courtyard Poughkeepsie”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

The Courtyard at Poughkeepsie was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at. The room was sparkling clean, the bed was fresh and so comfortable, the staff was helpful and friendly. There was plenty of free parking, the pool was clean and active and we had a very nice free breakfast in the morning with everything from sausage, eggs, bagels or lighter fare. I'd highly recommend this hotel....and it was reasonable ($129 per night).

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    193
    68
    14
    8
See reviews for
131
130
22
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

This Courtyard has been here for years and I was a little concerned about its condition after all these years, especially after reading some of the older reviews. The property appears to be recently refurbished and is well taken care of. Rooms were very nice and clean, though the boutique-style furniture sometimes proved impractical. Beds were ok (though not as firm as I like), vanity was small, shower was good. Better soaps and shampoos. Quiet. High speed Internet is free. Full buffet breakfast is about $10. Most rooms have a balcony. Very conveniently located right on 9 in Poughkeepsie. Nothing out of the ordinary, here, but no unpleasant surprises, either.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KSnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Stayed over with the kids while attending a local event. The hotel was very clean and I found it relaxing. Checking in was easy. The pool is decent with a nice sitting area outside for the adults where b.y.o.b. didn't seem to be an issue.

The hotel is walking distance to a couple of restaurants and an IHOP, Friendy's and other eateries as well as a huge supermarket are only a 5 minute car ride away. The hotel has a breakfast buffet that cost $9 a person that looked pretty good but we went to the IHOP and saved a few bucks because the kid's ate off the children's menu. The lobby has 24 hour coffee and tea.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looper745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Fantastic convenient location, very helpful staff, wonderfully comfortable rooms, great pool and spa, breakfast on site - this is a terrific home base for a visit to the Hudson Valley region, or to visit colleges in the area (just minutes from Vassar). There's tons of shopping at nearby malls and shopping centers, numerous restaurants, Coyote Grill is right next door with very good food. We had a ground floor room facing the courtyard and it was quiet and bright. The hotel was busy with a wedding party, but we never heard a bit of noise. Highly recommended - can't say enough good things about our very affordable stay.

  • Liked — Price, cleanlinesss, location, pool, helpful staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYDinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

It is about what you would expect of a Marriott Courtyard. Friendly and easy check-in and check-out, standard room, clean, easy parking and since we stayed there for a wedding as part of a large room block, we got a special room rate for under $100 a night. The hotel helpfully arranged for a taxi to take us to the wedding since we knew we'd be drinking there. Absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. If you have a choice, stay on the 2nd floor instead of the first so people from the outside can't easily peer into your room.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MakeYouHumble!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2006

Have just been travelling around the New York area with the family and enjoyed 2 nights in this Hotel. Staff were friendly and rooms large and clean. Kids used the pool and I used the GYM we all had a great time.

Breakfast very good but no other meals at the hotel but plenty of eating places close by. We walked to the Coyotte Grill next door and had a good meal.

Only problem is you are on a 3 lane highway and you have to go miles up the road to get to turn to come back on the other side.

But even with this we would definately use again and would recommend to others.

  • Liked — Claen with large rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jimbobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2006

I agree with the good reviews for this Marriott property. The room was almost identical to the one we had at their Kingston, NY property, and it was just as spotless.

We were doing the usual tourist thing around Hyde Park, and planned on staying north of the town, on our way to Vermont and New Hampshire. We decided the room was so comfortable, and well-located, it was worth going back. We reserved a room for a second night.

I called the hotel directly and asked for the same accomodation as we had the night before, and at the same rate. The reservation clerk said, "sure," and booked the room. Unfortunately, upon checkout I saw that the rate was $30 more than the previous night. We were in a hurry, so I didn't register my complaint.

The beds at this and the Kingston property were the most comfortable I had experienced at any hotel/motel. We knew the rooms around us were occupied, but we didn't hear a sound from the halls, the walls or from outside.

On the "cons" side:

We would have preferred glasses or even plastic throw-aways in the bathroom, instead of ceramic coffee cups.

We didn't like the idea of a $$ bottle of water on the bureau. It should be gratis... or not there at all.

The shower/bath room seemed to have no ventilation, resulting in steamed-up mirrors even after a short shower.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean room and comforable bed.
  • Disliked — Did not get agreed-upon rate.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be careful with phone reservations.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Property: Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Address: 2641 South Rd, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Poughkeepsie boasts a convenient location to popular area attractions, local businesses and top corporations, including Marist College, The Culinary Institute of America, and the IBM Poughkeepsie facility. Our Poughkeepsie, NY hotel features 149 renovated guest rooms and suites with luxury bedding, a comfortable seating area, large work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed Internet access, well-lit bathroom vanities with Paul Mitchell(R) products, and more. Unique among hotels in Poughkeepsie, NY, our interactive GoBoard(R) enables guests to view the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - at our Poughkeepsie hotel offers cafe-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and an evening cocktail service. Standing out among other Poughkeepsie hotels, we offer a state-of-the-art busines center with high-speed Internet, boarding pass station, and free printing services. Guests will experience a new perspective on travel when staying at the Courtyard Poughkeepsie hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Courtyard
Poughkeepsie Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing