We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband & I stayed here Oct. 5-7 in rm. #250 with a king bed. I liked that the bathroom iis much larger than at the Residence Inns. The sink/vanity area are outside of the bathroom with the mirrored door closet across from the sink. I like that the bed is on the other side of that wall because the light doesn't bother the person still sleeping. We had a balcony with 2 chairs that faced the courtyard. We were away from the elevator but there is some light noise from the next room if they have their tv on loud or there are alot of people in there. The hotel is very clean. We were 10 minutes away from Marist College where our daugther was playing in a tennis invitational from Siena College. It is right on Route 9 and there are plenty of shopping center areas & an I-Hop up the street too. They don't have free breakfast here like Residence Inns, but they had a nice selection of things to purchase in the Bistro area. The front desk was friendly. The Residence Inn is just down the street from this hotel. They were booked up so we stayed here and were not disappointed. I pack my own soap because I don't think the Marriott's has any smell to it. That is my only "pet peeve", but a tiny one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    193
    68
    14
    8
See reviews for
131
130
22
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Poughkeepsie for two nights in October 2012 when we visited the mid-Hudson River Valley for our 10th anniversary. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful as we checked in and they were able to offer restaurant suggestions when asked. The lobby was beautiful and modern. There were small groups of people in different conversation areas, some enjoying a drink, some enjoying the fireplace, others watching the baseball game on TV. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The room darkening shades were a huge plus! The hotel was centrally located for the attractions we wanted to visit and within safe walking distance to both the restaurant we had dinner at both nights and to one of the local historic sites (Locust Grove, home of Samuel Morse). Very often the water pressure at hotels is less than good but there was plenty of pressure and hot water for at least two showers each morning. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were abundant. As close os the hotel is to busy Route 9, we didn't hear any traffic noise from our room which was on the second floor probably halfway into the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a visit to the mid-Hudson Valley.

Room Tip: we were given a courtyard room and told it was what people usually request - we were pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was there for one evening, arriving late, leaving early. It was impecabbly clean and well-designed, with a little bar/restaurant lounge area as the lobby. the food was perfect for a light dinner, and shockingly fresh and well prepared. I had a turkey blt on sourdough, and it was nicely presented with very fresh ingredients. A nice ouch in the louge was the individual tvs at the booths, so one doesn't need to watch the ever-present ESPN at the bar. There were plenty of healthy choices too, with starbucks, breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit in the morning. The room was clean, with a nice personal note from the housekeeper. Thee are about a million small travel hotels on Route 9, but I would come back here in a heart beat.

Room Tip: My room over parking lot wasn't noisy. No elevators, so get ground floor if you have mobility c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dynzoutalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Mid Hudson Valley NY isn't the easiest place to find good accomodations. Hotels & Motels abound, but finding something that is well kept can be a challenge. Courtyard fit the bill. After a horrendous night at another area property (Best Western at the Falls) we moved to the Marriott. It's fairly new. Well maintained. Welcoming. Lobby is modern with booths and individual tv screens. WiFi is everwhere. Nice store for snacks and a lobby bar/cafe serving Starbucks. It's near everything (Walkway over the Hudson, CIA, Marist, Vanderbuilt, FDR, shopping). The room was spacious and clean. Even a little balcony for fresh fall air. The only draw back - no pillow top bed. It was ok and the sheets were soft. It was quiet and I slept well. Good hot shower in the morning. I would definitely stay here when in the area next.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor, right by the stairway. No problem with noise. It's a solid 3 star h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The entire place had been recently updated and was well maintained and clean. There was no directory of services or area attractions available. With a number of weekend wedding parties the staff appeared overwhelmed and we had to call at 4 PM to get our room madeup the second day but the staff did respond fairly quickly.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from elevator, bar, breakfast and lobby .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johns1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here on points (Gold Marriott Rewards) but would gladly return and pay rack rate. The staff was very helpful, offering us breakfast at 10 am after closing at 9:30. The lobby has been re-done in the new modern look and the rooms are very nice.

Agree with other reviewers that the walls are a bit "thin", but if you ask for a quiet corner of the property you'll have a sound sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid noise from Route 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It is a Courtyard, so your eectstions have to be somewhat limited. Unfortunately, this one disappointed. There is virtually ZERO insulation between rooms. We can hear the folks in the room next door move their curtains, start their shower and have any kind of conversation. The TV might as well be in our room. It is not our neighbors fault, they need to build this place better. The bed in our room is awful. There is no "heavenly bed" here, trust me. No padding other than the sheets. Room is small.

As an Executive Platinum Member of Marriott, I was particularly disappointed to end up in a room next to the service center on our floor ( room 259) The maids congregate outside our room in the morning about 6:30, and hold court! Every time we come out of our room, there is a dumpster of trash or a bevy of Cleaners chatting. No problem unless it is a long weekend and you do not want to get up at 6:30 am. I was equally disappointed to find out that my "gift" for being exec platinum was to have either water or chips from the service center! Seriously? I have spent 85 nights in Marriots this year and that is my reward? Ouch.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Property: Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Address: 2641 South Rd, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Poughkeepsie boasts a convenient location to popular area attractions, local businesses and top corporations, including Marist College, The Culinary Institute of America, and the IBM Poughkeepsie facility. Our Poughkeepsie, NY hotel features 149 renovated guest rooms and suites with luxury bedding, a comfortable seating area, large work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed Internet access, well-lit bathroom vanities with Paul Mitchell(R) products, and more. Unique among hotels in Poughkeepsie, NY, our interactive GoBoard(R) enables guests to view the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - at our Poughkeepsie hotel offers cafe-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and an evening cocktail service. Standing out among other Poughkeepsie hotels, we offer a state-of-the-art busines center with high-speed Internet, boarding pass station, and free printing services. Guests will experience a new perspective on travel when staying at the Courtyard Poughkeepsie hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Courtyard
Poughkeepsie Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing