We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed June 26, 2010

When we checked in, our room smelled like sewage. The bedspread had holes in it and the pillowcases were dirty. It looked like someone had been living there for months. I would have just left immediately and gone to a different hotel. However, they do not refund money under any circumstances. We asked for a different room and were given one that was much better, but still not great. Our towels had huge holes in them and the hallways were filled with cigarette smoke. As for breakfast, would you eat anything from a place like this?? After complaining we were offered 15% off our next stay. Needless to say, there will not be a next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NwEnglndGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

There was no elevator. The phone did not work. There was a smell of mildew everywhere. There was a spider on the stairwell wall. There were punch holes in the wall and the bathroom door that have not been repaired. The price is at least thirty dollars above the value. Pay thirty dollars more and stay at the Poughkeepsie Grand or The Hampton Inn next door. This cannot be a typical Super 8.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I don't expect much staying in a super 8 but I. Didn't expect this, me and my husband checked in last minute because all other hotels were booked, when we arrived in the room there was a cocroach right on the dresser we imediateley went back to the front desk and asked for our money back the clerk had said they do not give refund, we explained the situation that we did not feel confortable staying after seeing that, the lady gave us horrible attitude and would not give us her managers number instead, cursed at us. We ended up staying in a room at the other side of the motel and in the morning spoke to another clerk who had apologized for the women and said he called his manager who was on vacation and had her peosnally call us and apologize and refunded us out money, I will never stay there again and I do not recommend it, dirty rooms bad smells. No breakfast and the breakfast bar, soda machines ate our money and dirty showers,

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irock121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Had reservation. Checked-in, room had window that would not close. Asked for change, desk clerk said no other rooms available (this was in the afternoon, not evening). Asked again later and evening clerk was very helpful and switched us to an empty room. Both rooms had musty smell, both had burned out lightbulbs, one had exposed wiring coming out the wall, the second had an unattached light fixture hanging off the wall.

Breakfast bar was empty in the morning - no coffee, bagels, etc. Had to find desk clerk to restock. Wireless Internet very slow.

Room charge was excessive for this type of hotel. Poor value. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wpawstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights while exploring colleges. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. The night clerk spent more than an hour chasing down a wi-fi card for me to use with my laptop (the internet connection is wi-fi only). The basics were good, but I never could decide which continent the 'continental breakfast' represented (Antarctica, I think) and the coffee was obviously made by a confirmed tea drinker. However, there are decent places to eat nearby.
It's a Super 8: I've stayed in better, I've stayed in worse. This one seemed a little pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My wife and I made reservations online months in advance for our daughter's graduation. When we arrived, reservation confirmation in hand - we were told that our reservation could not be found.

I showed them the reservation confirmation confirmation, and the fact that I had PAID on line for the rooms (79/night) for two nights, but the guy at the desk said that they were in the process of changing to a Comfort Inn, and had no access to the Super 8 reservation system. Just like the reviewer above, he offered me a room - with 2 full beds, not a king room - for the "discounted" price of an ADDITIONAL $90/night.

After a nightmarish hour wondering if we would have a place to stay for graduation, we lucked out on a cancellation at another hotel.

STAY AWAY! CAVEAT EMPTOR! One of my life's key moments (graduation) was almost destroyed by this crooks. I'm filing a complaint with the Dutchess County Dept of Consumer Affairs.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
4  Thank garyokeNh_Vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

The hotel quoted a rate of $69.99 per night for two nights but had "lost" the reservation when we arrived and could not find it in the system. They charged us $99.99 per night for the two nights. It turns out they had made the reservation for a date exactly one month later--a fact discovered when the charge for a "no-show" showed up on our bill. An honest mistake--except that "Harry," the manager, refused to return calls about the mistake, refused to give his last name, refused to admit that the hotel made any such mistakes, insisted that the hotel never offered a rate of $69.99--despite the fact that it was on the no-show billl, and hung up on me when I asked a second time for his last name. This is the kind of treatment one expects in a third-world prison, not from Super 8 and "Harry."

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PeterDamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie

Address: 2349 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585 (Formerly Cloud 9 Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $94 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof PLUS+ Poughkeepsie is Non-Smoking, pet friendly and located off of Route 9. We offer flat screen TVs and free WiFi in all rooms. We are located in the historic Hudson Valley near the Franklin D. Roosevelt Museum & Library, Vassar College, and Walkway over the Hudson State Historic Park. Whether traveling for business or pleasure we are close to everything the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Super Eight
Poughkeepsie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing