We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poughkeepsie Super 8”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poughkeepsie Super 8”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Room odor was horrible...carpet in room and hallway were dirty. Clean the hotel is a good start to a better stay. I stay at many Super 8 and never experienced this kind of conditions. Bed sheets seemed to be clean , however, the pillows were flat and small for the King size bed. The blankets were old and shredding. Not a good sleeping experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank palacemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    46
    17
    25
See reviews for
59
32
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

About 3 to 4 weeks ago we booked a motel by phone for 2 nights in Poughkeepsie, N.Y. with plans to take the train into NYC to attend a Yankee game. The motel we called "Poughkeepsie Inn" (a deceiving photo on-line) the person told me that they only had 3 rooms available at that time for $100 per night. When we arrived this past Friday I think they meant only 3 rooms out of 30+ were booked. We had looked to see what their rating was when we called which was 2.7 or 8 out of 5. I realized when we saw this place it should have been rated a -1. It was so run down except for the Lobby which was the only picture on-line. I got on the phone and called near by motels to see if we could find another room. We were saved by a manager at the Super 8 which I found in the local phone book yellow pages. The person at the Poughkeepsie Inn would not let us out of our booking so we told her we were definitely only staying one night which was very hard to sleep in a room like we had. We were also told at check in that if we wanted to use the refrigerator it was a additional $5.00 charge and if we were to use the microwave there would be an additional $10.00. The manager at the Super 8 that I called (Neil) was very nice and allowed me and the wife of the other couple to check out their rooms before we booked it.
When I looked on the Super 8 website I could not believe it was rated a 2 out of 5, it was 5 times better than what we previously booked. Thanks to Neil we were able to SLEEP very well. I want other people to know that this Super 8 was a good place to stay, we would recommend it and will use it again. Thanks Neil for being our life-saver. Marianne

Room Tip: Rooms were neat & clean, employees friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Marianne, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our guest satisfaction means everything to us. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Thanks,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

For the amount that I paid I would have expected a little bit better. First the smoke smells in the hallway were very strong. Our room door was open and the bed was made but the limp pillows were just thrown. I tried to call the front desk but no one answered. I called to ask for another set of towels since there were 2 of us and only 1 set was in the bathroom. Luckily the cleaning staff was in the hallway and I did receive the towels. The whole place needs new carpet and updated facilities. The breakfast was not something to rave about, I wouldn't have cared if I was able to get coffee at least. We had to ask for cups and then to find both pots of coffee were empty. We ended up leaving the breakfast area and return to our room to pack up and leave for a cup of coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poughkeepsie hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie

Property: Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
Address: 2349 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585 (Formerly Cloud 9 Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof PLUS+ Poughkeepsie is Non-Smoking, pet friendly and located off of Route 9. We offer flat screen TVs and free WiFi in all rooms. We are located in the historic Hudson Valley near the Franklin D. Roosevelt Museum & Library, Vassar College, and Walkway over the Hudson State Historic Park. Whether traveling for business or pleasure we are close to everything the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Super Eight
Poughkeepsie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing