We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience staying here while daughter had an overnight visit at Vassar”

Vassar Alumnae House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poughkeepsie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vassar Alumnae House
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I was very happy to stay in a single room with shared bath while my daughter was visiting Vassar as a prospective student. The experience really suited me. The house is beautiful, and the libraries, sitting rooms and even my small room were just like an elite women's college from years ago. The paintings, the antiques and even the books in the library were precious. As a woman alone, I felt very, very safe. At first,I thought the bed seemed hard but I slept great. Will happily stay again. $85 including tax and large breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommysuzie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Breakfast not being readily available is a bit of a pain, I'm used to staying in name brand hotels where you receive all the comfort and cleanliness that is expected during a stay away from home. A bit of advice, clean the shower, mold is not a good look, being I am part of a hotel management team, I may be a bit critical seeing as this is defintitely not a hotel, it's more of a "dorm room/motel".
Next time I'll definitely stay at a chain, at least you are aware of the expectations and standards. this was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stay at Alumnae house each winter, often on the way to or from somewhere further north, although we have also used it as a base to drop into the city for a day. We love this place. Lots of great little places to read (a library straight out of Oxford, a beautiful great room, and of course the cozy guest room itself). Lots of great antique furniture and stone makes it feel like a castle (would be super fun for little ones). Keurig coffee maker with Hot chocolate and tea options available for guests. Most rooms are great, but make sure you request a bathtub if you want one as not all rooms have them. The ones that do have great deep soaking tubs- super relaxing. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and high quality. Front Desk staff is wonderful and very flexible. Reasonable prices give what it is (and includes vouchers for breakfast).

Great place to take long walks in the woods and around campus. Good for talking, reading, and reflecting. If you need a TV and blaring entertainment, this is not the place for you.

Lots of little cafes nearby for food.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a bathtub if you need it. Rooms on the ends are more spacious with more inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joycehamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a large room with a comfortable king bed, crib, and love seat. The room was decorated with an eclectic mix of antique furniture. It was all in nice shape. This was not a fancy hotel, but very comfortable and clean. The building was very cool, and definitely felt like you were staying in an old college building, lots of character. The free bottled water was a nice touch!

One improvement I would suggest is to redo the shower. The tile was old and a bit mildew stained. Otherwise the bathroom was small, but nice.

Breakfast is included at your choice of two restaurants. We ate at Babycakes each morning, which was delicious!

The seat part about this accommodation is the location. It is a five minute walk to Vassar's campus and two minute walk to restaurants and shops. You could easily get by without a car.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

While visiting Vassar, my son stayed on campus and I stayed at the Alumnae House, which was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast at a nearby cafe was delicious. And the view out the window through trees to the beautiful campus was lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My daughter and I did a college tour stop at Vassar (fabulous place) and, after consulting tripadvisor, booked a room at the Alumnae House. What a delight! This is NOT a hotel, so don't expect that. It was a very well priced; our room large, two queen beds and very comfortable. Breakfast is included at a choice of two cafes about a 2 minute walk away. One tripadvisor reviewer complained mildly that the furnishings were somewhat random and castoffs from Vassar alums. My take is that the furnishings & the non"standardness" of the decor were key to its charm and comfort. Staying at Alumnae House gives one a taste of Vassar, and of a former era. Loved it in every way!

Room Tip: There is not "service" at Alumnae House in the way that there is (or should be) at a hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here for a nearby wedding. Loved the common library. Good coffee down the hall. Bathroom needs soap dishes near sink and in shower. Nice short walk to local coffee shop for breakfast (included). Vassar campus is down the road a bit. Had a walk in closet with two double beds for four of us. Worked out fine. Wireless worked fine. If you have time, visit the art museum on campus - amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vassar Alumnae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vassar Alumnae House

Address: 161 College Avenue, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $40 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Vassar Alumnae Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing