We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food at its Best”
Review of South Side Cafe

South Side Cafe
Ranked #122 of 277 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfort Food at its Best”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This family-owned and operated restaurant serves up the best comfort food around. They say the food is so good, one will think they kidnapped your mother! :)

I usually order a burger and fries or roast beef au jus sandwich. Their house ale is terrific; light and refreshing.

Their desserts are heavenly.

The service is always friendly and professional. They take great care of their patrons.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunflowre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best wings in the world”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been to this restaraunt many times and just wanted to tell people how good it is I have tried so many different meals here all being quite wonderful their soups are amazing if you like wings you have to try these always crisp and juicy amazing. The service here is some of the best I have ever had. There isn't much cons at all

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fletch896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Cooking”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This restaurant has an interesting approach to service. All the servers are responsible for your table. While some reviewers find that too intrusive (being asked every 5 minutes whether you needed something), we found the service prompt and friendly. The servers were very professional, and their joint effort was seamless.
The menu is extensive, the prices are friendly, and the atmosphere is laid back.
We enjoyed the home made onion rings. I had the Chili and found it outstanding. The famous rice pudding was pretty good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcLeanVAFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
212 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Real home cooking”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Do stop here if you are ready for good food in Poughkeepsie, NY. Not a fancy place but reasonably decorated. Come for the down home taste of properly prepared real food. NO fast food.
A great find and good value too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cheap food, weird atmosphere”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you are looking to stretch your dollars in the greater Poughkeepsie area, look no further. Everything was priced extremely well, but almost so well that it scared me with the quality of food that I was getting. I got a burger and my colleague got a steak. We were both pleased with our meal, but it wasn't anything to write home about. Very standard "diner" selections.
On a side note, the place has its own brew, the South Side Lager, which tastes exactly like Coors Light - so order if you're into that.

In regards to the atmosphere, I have never seen a place like it. Based on the reviews I was envisioning a hip, fifty's or southern type of decor. The decor here was all over the place. It's located in a strip mall so the outside of the place I really can't fault them for, but it's not inviting me in to eat. Then once inside, the thing that struck me the most was the vinyl white outdoor fencing that separated each of the tables (I'm guessing to make them more private and booth-like) but I thought it was just strange. Depending on where you looked on the wall, you'd see either old records or life jackets - the theme was a little all over the place. The staff was extremely attentive and polite. We did go on a Monday night and it was very uncrowded - I think we closed up the place at 830!

I'm not sure if I'll be back, but I don't regret my visit either. If you are looking for cheap good eats in the area, this is your place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank melmabelle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Side Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing