We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Nic L Inn Wine Cellar on the Hudson
Ranked #3 of 277 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant and wine bar serving house made pasta and other Hudson Valley foods. Featuring scenic views of the Hudson and the Walkway and self serve wine machines as well as eight craft beers on tap, a full bar and thirteen wines by the glass.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The service is what makes this place. From the bartender to the hostess to the waitstaff. They are surely on point and all seemed to genuinely care about their customers. The food was really good but would hit a 9 on a 10 scale. I had the squid ink pasta and my wife had the flank steak. The pasta was real good but the steak could have been seasoned a little more. She claimed it was a little bland and had me taste it. I concur, it could have had a little more flavor to it. The "Tuscan Board" was fantastic and bursting with flavor. They make their chorizo in house and it is heavenly. If we had to complain ... and we dont ... the women's bathroom is right in front of the table we sat at and every time the door open we received a glaring view and then some. Not conducive to fine dining. It is nice to see improvements made based on previous TA reviews. The acoustics that were reported to be an issue were rectified in many different ways. They are receptive to constructive criticism, and are obviously striving to improve their standing on TA. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    32
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome - Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The food, atmosphere, and service were all terrific. It was cozy, elegant, and, most importantly, delicious. We'll definitely be back when we return to the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 23456754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I ate here with two other couples and had a fantastic meal which was enhanced by the excellent service and ambiance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mfox1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Solid menu with potential”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had dinner here on a Saturday night; we arrived early but the dining room filled up quickly. The restaurant touts all local ingredients and is yet another in the "farm-to-table" genre. All pastas are made on site.

The dishes we had were well-balanced, but nothing was memorable. My wife gave the prosciutto crostini high marks, but the chicory salad was forgettable. For entrees, we had the squid ink pasta and butternut squash agnolotti. While both were flavorful, we agreed that neither was a must try. I would give the restaurant another chance, as everything we had was good.

Wine flight groupings were a bit hard to fathom, and the wines were a bit over-priced. The selection was adequate, but our server was not very knowledgeable about the wines. She seemed fixated on the "really expensive" wines available by the glass from dispensers at the front of the restaurant. Overall, service was good, but a bit over-eager, uneven, and somewhat lacking in attention to detail. Turning around in one's seat to view the blackboard specials was awkward. Overall, the servers need to become more knowledgeable about the menu. Finally, the bank of south and west facing windows presents a challenge for controlling the temperature in the dining room. When we arrived, several doors were open to dissipate the heat from the late afternoon sun shining in. As the sun set, the restaurant rapidly cooled off and became cold to the point of becoming uncomfortable without a jacket. It took several diners' requesting the doors shut to make it so.

At $65 per person with wine, nothing about the meal wowed us. I hope that as the restaurant matures, the food quality remains high and some of the service kinks are worked out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great new spot”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a rally enjoyable meal. We started with the Tuscan board-- a selection of cured meats and cheese and a nice bottle of wine delicious and good price point. My husband had the skirt steak special. It was cooked perfectly serves over delicious polenta and sautéed spinach. I wanted more than one bite it was great. I had the pappardelle with a lamb Ragu from the menu. Very tasty. Home made pasta. We shares the pear cobbler. It was very fresh and tart a nice finish. The decaf coffee was excellent. the service was good and the hostess/owner came around to make sure things we perfect. Good service without hovering. Happy to have a new place in Poughkeepsie it was a nice renovation of space. We called ahead and they have gluten free pasta but we did not order it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbutwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nic L Inn Wine Cellar on the Hudson also viewed

 

Been to Nic L Inn Wine Cellar on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing