We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spinach Pie dish; great selection; great desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Diner

The Palace Diner
Ranked #15 of 278 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pawling, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Spinach Pie dish; great selection; great desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was very impressed by the way this restaurant does it Spinach Pie dish. It is displayed with fresh vegetables and greens and two Spinach Pie triangle slices. Preety and delicious. They have wonderful Mapoleans, rice pudding, chocolate cake, and peach bread pudding, yes, I had them all; brought them home!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrism72112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    62
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Pride Shows!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I think that the owners have a sense of pride in the obvious care in keeping the diner looking new & clean; good first impressions! It continues on w/ quickly seating us at noontime on a Sunday even though we were four adults and two little ones. The menu is diner extensive, and our server, Alexis K, took our order quickly after arriving & even got all of our "little requests" remembered correctly. Our food was tasty, fresh & hot; not sitting under heat lamps waiting to be picked up. Alexis never forgot about us & every request was quickly filled. Even the prices were reasonable, especially for the Hudson Valley.
A most pleasant lunch even if some of us ordered brunch!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrDale14424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, and a huge menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was very good, and a lot to choose from. The meals we ordered were cooked to perfection. It was lunchtime, but we all had breakfast foods, couldn't resist the choices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnAvon_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you love in a classic diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I will never tire of this place. It's a classic diner at its best. The variety of food, generous portions, excellent quality, prompt service - what more can I say? I've had breakfast, lunch and dinner here at various times throughout the years, and it's always high on my list for places to which I'll gladly return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“For a dinner - good food, good price, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Consistently good food, at a reasonably price. Nothing fancy, it is a dinner, but for a breakfast, you can count on it being good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Palace Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing