We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with no taste”
Review of The Palace Diner

The Palace Diner
Ranked #15 of 276 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food with no taste”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I first saw the Palace Diner on our way to the Walk over the Hudson parking area. On the following Saturday we decided to take the train into New York City for the day. On our return to Hyde Park we decided to stop and have a quick dinner. Big mistake the food had absolutely no taste. I ordered an open face turkey sandwich with gravy even the gravy had no flavor. The plates were huge and the service was good but we would not recommend this Diner for dinner!


Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    64
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Maybe good for an older crowd”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I saw the billboard on route 9. It looked very enticing but didn't actually say Palace Diner we thought it was going to be a ritzy New restaurant called EAT. It was too funny when we pulled into the drive way and saw it was a diner; maybe that's the point at which we should have left. We waited for a while to be seated and eventually ordered breakfast: eggs, bacon, toast, an omlet and juice. We couldn't taste anything! The Orange juice was ok but everything else was just off. As we looked around we noticed that the other patrons were all white and elderly. Based on the interaction between the server and other patrons, they were regulars. So I rated it a 3 because we didn't like it but some folk may. Good luck.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Didn't Know”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend wanted a quick bite, so not a formal restaurant, late at night. I looked on Tripadvisor and listed were the regular ones along Route 9 that are okay to eat at, however, there was a "Palace Diner" with good reviews that I did not now about. It is just off Rt. 9 by St. Francis Hospital.

The Palace Diner is an attractive establishment both inside and out with a large parking area. The inside is large and reminds me of the 50-60's.

We both had tuna sandwiches with a side of potato salad. My friend had a ice cream soda and a piece of cake. Both he and I liked the meal very much. The service was very good and the prices reasonable.

I will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creme de la Creme of Diners”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Best diner ever! I have breakfast there a few times and really enjoyed it. This evening my husband and I went for dinner. We had a COLOSSAL salad. Truly there is no way one person can eat a salad that large alone! It was delicious! Let me not forget to mention the awesome sever Rob! He was a star! Back to the food. For dessert we ordered carrot cheese cake. When Rob brought it to the table I was floored! It was 6-7 inches tall. It was colossal too, not to mention delicious! So much cheese cake we took half of it home! Best diner is the world!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsdavis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Back to the Fifties”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After a nostalgic flashback dinner at the classic Eveready Diner in Hyde Park, my wife and I were delighted to discover another classic diner in Poughkeepsie while looking for the Walkway Over The Hudson. Naturally, we stopped at the Palace Diner for lunch.

It looks like a Fifties diner, all shiny stainless steel and glass on the outside, and inside booths with a juke box record selector (or whatever they were called) in each. And, of course, the formica-topped lunch counter with pedestal mounted plastic cake trays.

The menu is huge with a large selection of burgers, including a bison burger and a Kobe beef burger, along with all kinds of salads and sandwiches. They had one of my favorites: meatloaf on a Kaiser roll, and for my wife: a grilled Swiss and tomato on multigrain bread. We settled for diet Cokes, but there were ice cream sodas, rootbeer floats, fountain sodas, egg creams and whatever.

It was a great find and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It wasn't expensive (well, the sodas were a little high), and the service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank practans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Palace Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing