We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Diner

The Palace Diner
Ranked #17 of 278 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I recently met some friends at the Palace for lunch. They are "regulars" at the place and going in with them was quite a trip, since they were greeted like members of the family. The diner itself underwent a massive renovation several years ago and the decor is quite nice - although certainly retaining its chrome and shiny "diner" feel. Like most diners, the Palace has a huge menu - if you can't find something you want on it you're beyond help! Being close to Marist College, they have several dishes named in honor of the Red Foxes. Unlike some other diners, they have quite a few dishes that are at least a few notches above the norm - for instance, I had the Grown-Up Grilled Cheese. It was brie and asiago cheeses with arugula and tomato on sourdough bread. Wonderful, nice and gooey. I decided to splurge and make the sandwich a "deluxe", meaning with fries (good ones), lettuce and tomato. Totally stuffed, and for under $10! My friends had wraps, which came with I believe house-made tortilla chips. No room for dessert, but they looked fantastic. The Palace has a full bar, and excellent service. Certainly a good place to go for either a quick bite, a filling breakfast or a leisurely lunch/dinner. They also sell pastries to take home, I was sorry later that I passed up the rugelach! Next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillyoldbear68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    62
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dutchess county, ny
Level Contributor
149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best in Poughkeepsie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am NEVER disappointed with this place. The food is always great and the staff is too. Have also been here for Holiday dinners and different functions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bethypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Always great, day or night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visit the Palace Diner almost every time we are in Poughkeepsie. It is clean, beautiful and the food is always very good. The menu is diverse and broad covering everything from breakfast to late night snacks. For us, it is almost always either a breakfast or lunch event.

The sweet potato pancakes and hash are a familial favorite. Service is excellent and even when the diner is filled to capacity (which it often is - a sign of a great restaurant and bargain) the food comes out of the kitchen so fast, it was like the place anticipated what we were going to order and had it ready for us. On the last trip, we advised out server that our daughter had to catch a train so we asked her to split the order, putting her order in before ours. No problem and in a few minutes, her hash and eggs were ready and off to the train station she went.

Huge portions, great breakfast dishes, excellent sandwiches, great corned beef or pastrami.... you name it, they have it and it is always really good and served with a smile. The coffee could stand a bit of tweeking (a bit week for our taste) but other than that minor detail, I highly recommend the Palace Diner when in town. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brokenboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“One of the best in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hubby and I come here at least once a week. I really enjoy their French onion soup and mushroom focaccia pressed sandwich. This diner also serves some of the best "diner breakfasts" around.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SentraGrlGXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for a diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the only diner in Poughkeepsie I go to. The food is well priced for the quality, not too greasy, and the menu is full of diner classics as well as some that would surprise you- like the half chicken dinner for $12.99 - if you're hungry, I would recommend it. Service is always great, there is always a place to sit and its open 24 hours!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdlnzppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Palace Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing