We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of family fun!”

Mid-Hudson Children's Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Mid-Hudson Children's Museum is the ideal destination for families with young children. With exhibits that promote play and early learning, the museum welcomes over 62,000 visitors each year. Exhibit galleries include: Early Learning Junction, River Town, a Science Center, Imagination Playground, My Backyard Adventure, and a Children's Garden. The museum also features weekly drop-In educational programs. The Mid-Hudson Children's Museum is the ONLY children's museum in the Hudson River Valley between the larger New York City and Albany areas. The museum is located in the heart of the historic waterfront in Poughkeepsie, just steps away from the Poughkeepsie Metro-North train station, the Walkway Over the Hudson's Elevator, fabulous restaurants, and a new city park. The Mid-Hudson Children's Museum is an independent 501(c)3 not-for-profit educational organization supported by admission and membership sales, program fees, donations, and grants.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of family fun!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We haven't visited in a while so when we came back, we were impressed with how things have changed (for the better!), specifically how many new things there are to do and see. Staff is friendly, and it's clean and safe. Lots to do and a great place for families with young kids.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    19
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place for families”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our 2 and 4 year old loved trying out all of the new things at this museum. It was definitely worth spending the money to take them somewhere fun, especially in winter when our indoor play options are limited. I'd much rather have them learning lots of new things in a museum than listening to them whine at home about being bored. The kids had a blast, and it was great to get some adult conversation in with other parents, and to get a break from having to come up with new activities to entertain and teach our kids. We will definitely go back regularly. The place and exhibits are clean and the staff members were friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family friendly place!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love watching my young kids openly explore all the exhibits! It's always hard to get them to leave. We visit fairly often while visiting relatives in town and the museum's been making some great upgrades lately. They've also been adding new educational exhibits, which is really nice to see. Not only are my kids playing, but they are learning at the same time! The staff are always kind and the place is really clean. The affordable price makes it a great way to spend a few hours with the family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such an improvement!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited here when my nephew was small, and I thought "eh." Now it's full of hands-on fun stuff that seems to have more of a theme and plan. I could have used a place like this when my daughter was 4--there really aren't enough cold-weather hideouts where learning and fun are both possible. I have high hopes for this place now.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KAZ13068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for family time!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The new Fun-2-3-4 exhibit is fantastic! Not only is it beautiful, it invites families to explore together in a playful, hands-on manner. It's a great addition to the museum's other imaginative play spaces. After three hours it was hard to get the kids (and dad!) to leave.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid-Hudson Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mid-Hudson Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing