We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertainment in the Hudson Valley”

Bardavon Opera House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New York State's longest continually-running theater.
Kingston,NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Entertainment in the Hudson Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Bardavon Opera House in Poughkeepsie NY is a wonderful restored theater in which I have gone to music events,have seen films and comedy. I attended many of the performences in the past 20 years. I have seen Smokey Robinson, Neil Sedaka, Julio Inglesias, Kris Kristofferson, Bela Fleck, and I have also attended many concerts by the Hudson Valley Philharmonic. Some Fridays the Bardavon has old movies like North by Northwest or Casablanca. There is a 1929 Whirlitzer organ that plays a half hour concert before every movie. Sometimes I go to the live HD broadcasts from the Metropolitan Opera. There is parking close by. There is a full bar, but I prefer the hot coffee and homemade cookies. There is balcony seating, but no elevator. Make sure you can climb the stairs if you buy a balcony seat. The staff is very accomidating. There is wheelchair seating on the far right and far left of the theater.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You just can't beat this theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great care has been taken to make this a premier theater in the Hudson Valley. I have seen movies and concerts there over a number of years and the place is just great. The staff and volunteers are helpful, the interior has been masterfully restored and the acoustics are top-notch. I like the size of this venue, less than 1,000 seats, because of the intimate environment it creates. I've had seats all around the room from the front row to the back of the balcony and always enjoyed the shows...you can see and hear everything. Don't miss a chance to visit the Bardavon...and make a whole night out with dinner at any of the number of nearby and well-reviewed eateries.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solas16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restored theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great view of the stage from any seat and wonderful acoustics.
Recently saw "Capitol Steps" - hilarious and irreverent commentary on US politics!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JVCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a beautiful opera house, newly renovated . I saw the Nutcracker here,last Christmas. Not a bad seat in the house, since the building is small, with a very intimate feel.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya_and_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Landmark historical theatre. Excellent acoustics. Nice seating and overall decor. We had gone to see John Waters and this was a great venue in which to see him and his Christmas show.....very funny and excellent venue

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pgo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardavon Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Bardavon Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing