We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have stayed here three times. This place is NOT as cheap as you might expect when you see the web page photo. It is 3 blocks away from Vassar College's campus and for us, that is convenient. They are takign advantage of that. If it were not for the convenience, we would stay at one of the better hotels out on Rte 9 which will charge the same and possibly less. The Days Inn has is no elevator, so you will lug your bags up and down the steps. The "business class" rooms in the main indoor building cost a little more but they are out of the weather and seem safer. But do NOT expect anything resembling a true "business class" room. The so-called "free" continetal breakfast was gross. The juice is "fake" and the food selection is poor and not fresh. You get a better breakfast at a Holiday Inn Express that charges half this room rate. And then they have the nerve to add $1.50 to your room rate EVERY day for the convenience of having a small safe in the room. If you do not use the safe they will remove the charge, but that's annoying and a real "bush league" approach. Who has every paid $140 per night (or more) and been assessed an extra $1.50 fo using the safe. We did apprecuiate that the staff is always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAJOR1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 631 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

The rooms are quite nice for a Days Inn, and the breakfast includes soft boiled eggs and a wafflemaker. We phoned ahead and were given permission for our son and his friend to join us for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPoughkeepsie, Manager at Days Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

We are about 5 blocks from Vassar College and have many restaurants within walking distance as well as convenience stores, gas stations, laundry facilities, and a grocery store. We are in a great location for your next visit to Poughkeepsie!

You can always ask for special requests, most of the time we are able to accommodate them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I have family in Poughkeepsie and stay here a couple of times each year. I have had excellent experiences here every time over the past five years - staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The business center rooms are a bit more upscale than the the traditional motel rooms, but all are very nice. Without qualification, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPoughkeepsie, Manager at Days Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for the great review!

Our hotel has two sections that are talked about in this review, standard rooms and business class rooms. The standard rooms are a motel type of set up with the doors to the room opening to the parking lot. Our business class rooms are in an enclosed building with doors opening into hallways. They also have a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. If requested we can put a microwave and refrigerator in the standard rooms for a fee.

We are currently renovating and within a month both types of rooms will have the same furniture as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Poughkeepsie from Boston for an event on 1/22/2011.  I would not have chosen this hotel, but the hotel that I originally had booked, Hilton Garden Inn in Fishkill / Poughkeepsie, messed up our reservation, forcing us to quickly "pick out" a hotel.  

We arrived at the Days Inn and were given room 215.  DO NOT stay in this room - or in any room!   It was just horrible!  There were a myriad of problems in the room, and no others were available.  

Here's a list for you:

1.  The bottom sheet on the bed was torn...where the corner elastic is on the fitted part of the sheet.

2.  The furniture was not only ancient, but "broken" - the dresser was missing the front piece of the drawer.  The chair in the room was ripped, showing the stained foam filling, the chairs at the table had broken springs in them, for when you sat down in them, you nearly hit the floor.

3.  The bathroom.  Where do I start?  I could stretch my arms out and touch 2 walls - and I'm short!   You could NOT move in this bathroom, which had cracked, dirty floor tiles, and a nasty, stained toilet seat.  Ugh.

4.  Could not sleep on the thin, worn sheets and blanket.  The bedspread immediately came off the bed and was put in the corner - lord knows what was on that spread!  Eww!  

5.  To add to us not being able to sleep, there was also a very noisy group of people in the room next door to us.  The walls were so thin, we could hear every F-Bomb that was being dropped, along with some creative uses of the word.  They were banging on the walls, yelling, swearing, and at one point, it sounded like thy were literally pounding on our door - seriously!  I was scared!  They kept up their stupidity until around 5:00 AM!  

All in all - this place sucks.  Do not stay here.  You'd fare better sleeping in your car!  

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keri_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We come to Poughkeepsie often, because my wife's mother lives here. This is the first time we have stayed here and will stay here from now on. Main reason-Golden brand waffles on the Continental breakfast, they are the best. It made the price a little over $100 (note that you can not touch a decent hotel in Poughkeepsie for less than this price) all worth it. The rooms are nice and the bathroom is a little small, but to be fair. To get better would be to spend a lot more per room for another hotel. They take good care of the hotel and staff was friendly. It is a fantastic location for visiting Vassar which is right around the corner. I have already recommended the hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamfamvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed here on a Friday night and were very pleased. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. It was not as posh as a 4 star hotel, but exceeded our expectations for a Days Inn. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast that included waffles, cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, bread etc. This was a good value for the area and time of year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMaryEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Booked a non-smoking room and, you guessed it, was given a room which probably hadn't had a window opened in 12 years. As soon as we opened the door, the smell of cigarettes was overwhelming. We went to the desk & asked that our reservation be honored and were told there were no other rooms as the hotel was fully booked. The manager did, however, offer us a can of Lysol. You get what you pay for. I would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
#8 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Poughkeepsie

Address: 536 Haight Ave, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603-2489 (Formerly Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: $78 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Poughkeepsie 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing