We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a traditional American downtown setting.”
Review of Alex's Restaurant

Alex's Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 278 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Various
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food in a traditional American downtown setting.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I like the view of the local courthouse and the variety of people inside and outside this well known establishment. The staff is warm and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sammythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in hudson valley”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I've been coming to Alex once or twice a month for almost two years. It's easily my favorite restaurant in Poughkeepsie and probably in the whole region. The menu is extensive - about a dozen or more varieties of wraps, paninis, burgers, and salads each along with week day lunch specials and more. The service has always been impeccable even during their busy lunch time. The atmosphere is clean and professional. The decor is exceptionally charming and I very much appreciate the jazz they play throughout the day. This really is an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wide Menu, Solid Choices”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Located in the heart of downtown, Alex's is a meeting place. The clients I was with knew lots of the people seated around us. The menu is like a deli, True to its roots (started by Alex Pappas) there are Greek dishes (three of us had the gyro salad), but there are many other choices as well. Nice place for lunch!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockportBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Its a weekly routine”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Best Sunday Breakfast in town. The weekdays this place is very busy with a lunch crowd of working people. But on Sundays its a quiet, delicious change from the local diners. The food is very good during the week and on Sunday's the food, the atmosphere and the service are all very good. I would and have recommended it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYAnge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alex's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing